THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 46,161 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
Our 23RD ANNIVERSARY!!

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
See What Just Sold






  Special Vinyl
  T-Shirt Finder
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 42 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Wes from Greensburg, IN 
Mar 31 2012 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Unsane -Wreck CD
Click for more info

Unsane
Wreck CD

The greatest band in the world releases their first new album in 5 years, and surprise,surprise....it fuking rules. Unsane has been around since 1988 and rather anomalous in the sense that they never sounded 80's at all - they were super pissed and hateful and dark and heavy and exciting back when other bands were drenching their hair in aquanet hairspray and writing love songs. And as the years passed they developed their sound better and better, an excellent mix of hardcore-punk,blues,and metal. Now after being a band for about 24 years, the members in their early 40's, i can say with complete honesty that they still play with the vitality of a band in their 20's, most bands these days sound whimpy and uninspired compared to Unsane. This particular record is a concept record in a way, about the horrors and the stresses of living ones life in a city,but it extends much further than that. One thing thats always made Unsane rule is the fact that they dont sugarcoat anything, people try to paint this world over with a layer of gloss to make it seem like its not that fukd-up, which anyone thats not a coward knows isnt true, and Unsane tell it like it is, that its a bunch of completely fukd-up stressful horrible horrifying mean-spirited bullshit. I am amazed after being Unsanes biggest fan for 17 years now and seeing them live 3 times that they put out yet another amazing album. Buy 4 copies of this and after listening to it,give the other 3 copies to random people on the street.

Wes from Greensburg, IN 
Mar 24 2012 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Anaal Nathrakh -The Codex Necro (Reissue) CD
Click for more info

Anaal Nathrakh
The Codex Necro (Reissue) CD

Re-issue cd of one of the greatest albums of all time,The Codex Necro. Insanely-extreme blastbeats and blackMetal type sound with vocals that literally seethe with hate, vocal eruptions so fierce they rattle your skull in. This is a band that was peering all the way into life back in 2001, and this album was their reaction towards life. Unfortunately the bonus tracks are demos from two years previously and do not reflect such sentiments as you can tell when listening to them they werent taking it as seriously. And in fact, after this album...anaal nathrakh changed their sound and instead of the amazing hateful vocals they changed to some stupid operatic singing type b.s. - not cool at all. But on The Codex Necro they were amazing, check it out if you want to really keep it real, but since you don't, back to your terrible sublime,green day,and worthless hip hop music.

Wes from Garrett, IN 
Aug 16 2011 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Meta-Matics -Complete Discography CD
Click for more info

Meta-Matics
Complete Discography CD

The songs on this cd remind me what it would be like if you were buttering hundreds of pieces of toast per hour while in the living room every episode of the The Twilight Zone ever transmitted through an english muffin or breakfast burrito. File under acetaminophen handbags and nervous anxiety disorder kitchenette.

Wes from Garrett, IN 
Jul 28 2011 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Converge -Jane Doe CD
Click for more info

Converge
Jane Doe CD

I should have known this was going to be their most overrated album by far. I used to own the Converge/Agoraphobic Nosebleed split cd which was cool, the "Petitioning the empty sky" album which was alright, and i've heard "You Fail Me" which i consider to be their best album. But this album is about the equivolent of a 650 mile car ride while continually chugging energy drinks and killing on the salty junkfood only to arrive at a random rest-stop dying of explosive diarrhea and you keep rushing back to the bathroom over and over while in the back of your mind you cannot resist the urge to eat heartily from the nearby vending machines. Eat from the vending machine that is "You Fail Me" or "The Poacher Diaries", not "Jane Doe".

Wes from Garrett, IN 
Jul 25 2011 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Trance And The Arcade -TMUSSS05 7

Trance And The Arcade
TMUSSS05 7"

I found out about this project when guitarist Mick Barr from Orthrelm/Ocrilim(Octis),Octis(Ocrilim),Crom-Tech,Krallice,Oldest collaborated with Chuck Bettis(Trance And The Arcade's sole member)on a live improv laptop/noise insane guitar jam. Thats what this 7 inch is too,laptop noise by Chuck Bettis from punk band Meta-Matics(which featured Crom-Tech's drummer). Its a really interesting release...weirdo atmospheric harsh and strange noise,sometimes entrancing sometimes abrasive.. The first song "Dripp" actually appeared on the live jam i mentioned with orthrelm's guitarist and it features a sample of some girl saying "i think,think,think....i think there was noise everywhere" over the top of schizophrenia guitar. I don't listen to tons of just pure noise but this one is a great one of its type,and the artwork rules too,totally fukd.The 3 songs are short and it makes you want to play the whole 7 inch about 3 times in a row. Put on the song "Blinkle Stop" and hold a bag of chex mix up to the wall while pretending 400 pounds of dogfood are blocking the path to the last known vending machine in all the world!!!

Wes from Garrett, IN 
Jul 21 2011 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Daughters -Canada Songs CD
Click for more info

Daughters
Canada Songs CD

Schizophrenic Screamo/Grind/No-Wave/Noise-InsanityCore. I've owned this one since it came out like 8 years ago but bought another copy to give to someone for their birthday. This album rules...a descent into WEIRD madness... The perfect soundtrack for getting a running start and smashing a Wildebeast's front teeth out with a marble ashtray !!!

Wes from Garrett, IN 
Jul 9 2011 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Robinson -Great City CD
Click for more info

Robinson
Great City CD

Really chaotic grindcore style album, the lyrics seem to revolve around an intense end of the world scenario in which God is returning to destroy everyone ?? The guitars are cool, the drums are relentless. The vocals are especially piercing which is something i always welcome. I enjoyed this one. This band is now broken up and this album is out of print so you may want to buy it now.

Wes from Garrett, IN 
Jul 9 2011 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Liturgy -Renihilation CD
Click for more info

Liturgy
Renihilation CD

Really interesting black metal album. The guitars are eerie, dissonant, and disorienting(in a good way). There is a feel of transcendence in these songs, of leaving this world. The vocals should have been mixed a bit higher as i've watched some videos of the band and the vocalist has a really surreal and otherworldly scream that doesn't quite cut through the mix on their studio album compared to live.

My only complaint with the album is the interludes between the songs,they're these really annoying wordless vocal chants. Don't get me wrong,i like when bands will try to make an album more of an experience with interludes,as apposed to just a collection of songs...but these interludes just arent my thing, i've never liked chanting.

Overall this is actually a great cd ,the songs "Arctica" and "Mysterium" in particular are totally beautiful,aggressive amazing songs. When i first got this cd about a month and a half ago i remember i listened to it like 12 times in a row in my headphones, which is something i basically never do with any cd.



Wes from Garrett, IN 
May 17 2011 Rating: 1/5 Stars
Psychic Paramount -Origins And Primitives Vol. 1 And 2 CD
Click for more info

Psychic Paramount
Origins And Primitives Vol. 1 And 2 CD

I don't like this one. It's a double disc cd, first disc is electric guitar oriented and second disc is acoustic stuff. I only like about 2 songs on the first disc, the second disc i dont like any of the songs. The songs on this are just so boring and uninspired sounding. I like The Psychic Paramount's "Gamelan Into The Mink Supernatural" album that i reviewed here a couple months back, its pretty cool psychedelic music,but "Origins and Primitives" sounds uninspired to my perception. Check out "Gamelan Into The Mink Supernatural" or "II" instead of this one.

Wes from Garrett, IN 
Mar 29 2011 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Tecumseh -Avalanche And Inundation CD
Click for more info

Tecumseh
Avalanche And Inundation CD

What is "drone" music?? Drone is a genre that is usually played on a guitar or bass,sometimes with drums/synths/electronic elements,and is played at a slow repetitious pace with an emphasis on inducing a state of trance or hypnosis.What is "Doom" or "Doom Metal"?? A genre of music played with guitar and/or bass with or without drums or vocals usually played very slow,tuned low and heavy.The vibe of this music is depressing,evil,entrancing,often evoking a sense of dread and/or despair. I suppose you could call Tecumseh's "Avalanche and Inundation" a combination of doom and drone but the genre classification isn't important.The fact is that this is slow,depressing and intricately-played dreadful mysterious music and one of the best albums you'll hear of its type.

The first song "Skies of Joy and Sorrow" fades in slowly with bass sound momentarily until the guitar comes crashing in,the whole vibe of this song is like a quiet gaze into a pollution-ridden sky,standing on the earth looking upwards and reflecting on lifes horror and its beauty,the song follows this pattern as it flows mostly with mass-dread and other times with calm.Its title fits it well.

Next is "Walking Alongside Death" with its audio themes of a dreadful stride through life and the tension washing over you like walls of aqua from a waterfall. It is like the feel of doing your best with what you have in life knowing that all the while both consciously and subconsciously that one day your journey will end completely.Or will it??....

The last song "Cascadia" is much like what the title references,the Cascadia faultline,one of the earths biggest plates that shifts and has been responsible for some of the worlds most powerful earthquakes.

This is one of my favorite albums i've bought in the last few years,its so great. For fans of Moss,Stumm,Fleshpress,Eyehategod,Earth or anyone that likes slow dark mysterious music.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 42 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review








© 1997-2021 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.