THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 56,272 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
22ND ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying all 8 customer reviews
 
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Aaron from Batavia, IL 
Jan 27 2010 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Ramones -Pleasant Dreams (Remastered) CD
Click for more info

Ramones
Pleasant Dreams (Remastered) CD

After the over-production of End Of The Century it's strange that the Ramones didn't go for something a little edgier. Perhaps they thought that since End Of The Century was their highest selling album, clean was the way to go. And this album is very clean sounding. Not over-produced, and certainly no bad per se, but... clean... maybe a little too "nice". Again, this is by no means a bad album, it just sounds a little tame by Ramones standards. But there are definitely some gems here such as the setlist-standard "The KKK Took My Baby Away". Marky Ramone has referred to the album as their "pop-punk" album, and that's pretty much true, there's lots of pop, and the angriest it gets is probably the albums opening track "We Want The Airwaves". This album probably could have used a few more edgier songs to even out the sheen, but overall this is a pretty solid album. Worth your money.

Aaron from Batavia, IL 
Jan 27 2010 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Ramones -Too Tough to Dies (Bonus Tracks) (Manufactured on Demand) CD
Click for more info

Ramones
Too Tough to Dies (Bonus Tracks) (Manufactured on Demand) CD

I kept hearing that this album was the best Ramones album of the '80's. I would hear a few songs and clips here and there and I didn't buy into it when I was a passive Ramones listener, I would hear songs like "Wart Hog", "Mama's Boy", "Too Tough To Die", etc and think 'this doesn't sound anything like the Ramones I know'. However now having gone from casual listener to Ramones connoisseur, I get it now, and I would have to agree, this is in fact a great album, and one of the best sounding Ramones albums of the 80's. The album's first few songs are a little dark and sludgey, as far as Ramones songs are concerned, and it picks up with the instrumental "Durango 95". The middle portion has some great pop moments including "Chasing The Night" "Howling at the Moon (Sha La-La)" and "Daytime Dilemma (Dangers of Love)". This album is definitely a strange journey for anyone expecting a Rocket To Russia-esque album, but if you're willing to explore the Ramones sonic capabilities along with them, this may end up being a classic to you as well! It's also the first album to feature Richie on drums, who is by far the most over-looked and under-rated Ramone.

Aaron from Batavia, IL 
Jan 27 2010 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Ramones -End of the Century [UK Import] CD
Click for more info

Ramones
End of the Century [UK Import] CD

There is a great album here underneath all the mud. Yes indeed, Phil Spector is known for his "wall of sound" production, but honestly, all that means is he throws a ton of reverb on every single thing you hear and adds lots of unnecessary instrumentation wherever possible. Moments of the production work nicely, but most of it is very distracting. Production aside, there are some very strong songs here, including a couple classics that the band kept their entire career, but it does come off a bit scattered and inconsistent, and covering "Baby I Love You" was probably not the best choice (It's a great version, but does it belong on a Ramones album?...) but overall there aren't any bad songs on here, it's just uneven. I think there should be an Ed Stasium mix of this album, kind of like the Beatles' Let It Be...Naked, I think it could reveal an entirely different album. This particular re-mastered version includes some demos recorded prior to the Spector sessions, which make this album worth picking up if you were on the fence.

Aaron from Geneva, IL 
Jan 13 2004 Rating: 4/5 Stars
In The Face Of War/Bowels Of Judas -A Split CD
Click for more info

In The Face Of War/Bowels Of Judas
A Split CD

More In The Face Of War goodness. Basically the same sound they've had before. Enjoyable. To tell you the truth I only bought the album for the ITFOW songs, so I couldn't tell you if the Bowels Of Judas songs are any good. Word.

Aaron from Geneva, IL 
Jan 13 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Evaluation -We Built The Gun That Causes This Unending Fear CD
Click for more info

Evaluation
We Built The Gun That Causes This Unending Fear CD

I guess I would consider this either "indie" or "post-punk" in the vein of Frodus and Fugazi. The aformentioned bands basically sum up the sound of this album. Great guitar work, interesting drumming, and glorious production by the folks at Electrical Audio. I enjoy. You enjoy too? Yes.

Aaron from Geneva, IL 
Jan 13 2004 Rating: 4/5 Stars
In The Face Of War -Self Reliance is Self Destruction CD
Click for more info

In The Face Of War
Self Reliance is Self Destruction CD

In The Face Of War is an all around good time. Fast hardcore for a majority of the time, with a metal tinge. Has it's chugging breakdowns, and melodic ones, but none of them are typical. Spans from hardcore, to metal, to indie, to punk. It's fun. The one draw back I can think of is the backing vocals can sometimes be a bit overwhelming, and sometimes not completely on pitch, but it's no big deal. I recommend it.

Aaron from Geneva, IL 
Jan 13 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Anah Aevia -Realize You're Dead CD
Click for more info

Anah Aevia
Realize You're Dead CD

I wholly enjoy this album. These kids are extremely talented. "Realize You're Dead" has it's brutal metal moments and it's intricate and melodic ones, with inhuman screaming the whole way through. I love it. Fans of Zao and Iron Maiden will definitely like this. Check it, yo.

Aaron from Geneva, IL 
Mar 30 2002 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Eyes Upon Separation -I Hope She's Having Nightmares CD
Click for more info

Eyes Upon Separation
I Hope She's Having Nightmares CD

I'd have to give this CD a couple more listens I suppose, but I think I need songs that have more structure. Don't get me wrong, I think they're really talented, but it's really "noisy". They sound like a cross between Converge and ZAO in my opinion. Again, it's not bad by any means, it's just really insane.

 
Displaying all 8 customer reviews
 
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2020 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.