THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 66,706 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
22ND ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 21 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Aaron from Jacksonville, FL 
Sep 12 2012 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Distillers -Sing Sing Death House LP
Click for more info

Distillers
Sing Sing Death House LP

This album rocks my ass so hard it probably registered on the Richter scale.

I've been acquainted with this album for a loooong time, but couldn't resist getting it on vinyl for my wife (her favorite band). If you have not heard of this band, or have not heard this release from this band, you're missing out on some hard-hitting punk rock action. Brody's trademark husky vocals are simultaneously sexy and scary.

Don't believe me? Listen to "Young Crazed Peeling", then open up your wallet and buy this as fast as you can.

Aaron from Fpo, AA 
Sep 12 2012 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Bert Davis/Holly Davis -Dwelling Portably '80-89 Book
Click for more info

Bert Davis/Holly Davis
Dwelling Portably '80-89 Book

This was an interesting read. There is some good information here for anyone, about living and cooking outdoors, edible plants and how to prepare them, making shelters from common items, how to stay warm for long winter periods, insulating using things found in the wilderness, etc. The good information is in here. But alongside that are things I don't agree with at all, like the claim that it's fine to use the same condom a dozen times so long as you wash it and take good care of it. Or showering only your "crotch and hair". Might be alright for someone, but it's a little too extreme for me.

This book could easily be retitled to "Successful Hoboing", "Hobo Housekeeping", or "1001 Uses For Bike Innertube".

So yes, it's true that some parts of this book grossed me out, but oddly enough (or not) all of those articles seem to come from the same woman. The rest is really interesting to me for one main reason: there is a whole society of people living this way, right under our noses, and that aspect is truly captivating. Some of the methods and uses of common items we would discard as trash is extremely clever and deserving of praise.

If you'd like an interesting read that is in a true entrepreneurial spirit, I recommend this book.

If you are going to be grossed out by the legions of semi-washed hippies that grace it's pages, I do not recommend this book. Personally, I bought the other two, so more reviews as I finish those.

Aaron from Fpo, AA 
Sep 12 2012 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Tim Barry -40 Miler CD
Click for more info

Tim Barry
40 Miler CD

I feel like this is one of those albums that just gets better every time you listen to it. Best served with a cooler full of beer, a pack on your back, and dust on your heels. Let's all just quit our jobs and become hobos.

Aaron from Atlantic Beach, FL 
Dec 18 2010 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Citizen Fish -Life Size LP
Click for more info

Citizen Fish
Life Size LP

Citizen Fish never fails me. I wasn't familiar with a single song on this album, and lucky for me, they are all great. Dick Lucas is as angry and as intelligent as always. As long as you like ska-punk and don't mind intelligent vocals with an English accent as thick as cold molasses you should love this album as much as I do.

Five stars for seriously rocking and having a giant baby on the cover.

Aaron from Atlantic Beach, FL 
Dec 18 2010 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Blink 182 -Buddha (Exclusive Clear With Blue/Yellow Splatter Vinyl) LP
Click for more info

Blink 182
Buddha (Exclusive Clear With Blue/Yellow Splatter Vinyl) LP

I grew up hearing Blink on the radio, singing it on the bus, and humming it in the classroom. For some reason, however, I had never gotten a Blink182 album, so when I saw this neat limited edition I thought I'd hop back on that schoolbus bound for the days of my youth. Little did I know that the bus would careen out of control and deposit me sloppily on the side of an abandoned highway in the Florida wetlands.

The production values on this album are shitty. I don't really know what else can be said besides that. It's just sloppy. The special-edition vinyl is pretty to look at, but put it in your record player at your own risk.

My advice? Frisbees are cheaper, and they fly farther than this album.

Aaron from Fpo, AA 
Jun 2 2010 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Her Space Holiday -Manic Expressive CD
Click for more info

Her Space Holiday
Manic Expressive CD

Zzzzzz....zzzzz....zzzzz... Oh! Manic Expressive, by Her Space Holiday?

How To Write This Album

1.) Take a violin part

2.) Okay, now add some drums. Put in some chimes, too, just in case.

3.) Don't forget the random warbling voice effect in the background, the one that sounds like a generic ghost sound effect? The one that goes "OoooOOOOOooOOOOo?" now we're getting somewhere.

4.) Sing about some sort of something.

5.) Make it sadder. Sadder. SADDER. Good.

6.) Forget everything I said. Squeeze everything through a casio and a thing that makes your voice sound like a robot.

Danger Will Robinson! This album sucks!

Two stars for being more effective than most over-the-counter sleep medications.

Aaron from Fpo, AA 
Jun 2 2010 Rating: 4/5 Stars
1208 -Turn Of The Screw CD
Click for more info

1208
Turn Of The Screw CD

Once upon a time, I bought a compilation CD entitled "Punk-O-Rama 9" (also available here on Interpunk. Check it out!). This is where I discovered 1208. I'm listening to them right niow, in fact. If you are just looking for some new songs for your punk collection from a different band than the ones you've been lisening to in your mom's basement for the past few months (Recession. Times are tough, no judgements) this is a decent addition.

Whether you are sobbing over a break-up letter (e.g. Eviction notice from your mom. Again, no judgements) to "Fall Apart" or pumping your fist awkwardly by yourself to "Next Big Thing", you will find something worthwhile for your collection on this album.

Minus the fifth star because as good as it is, it's nothing too terribly new or innovative. Four stars for good composition and catchy punk rock tunes with good production values.

Aaron from Fpo, AA 
Jun 2 2010 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Elliott Smith -From A Basement On The Hill CD
Click for more info

Elliott Smith
From A Basement On The Hill CD

Yet another Elliott Smith album for my collection. Just taking a look at the favorites selected above can show you that there is something for every fan of Elliott on here. Look at all them there percentages! If you were walking around his town, and there was a basement on the hill, you better run the other direction lest you be smothered by wave upon wave of relaxing, utterly enchanting songs.

Something I get with Elliott that I don't get with a lot of other artists is that when I listen to him, it's a very personal listening experience, as if the song was written for me rather than the masses. I would wager that neither of those are true, that what he was really doing was writing for himself, and aside from being a multitalented musical whiz kid, he was a normal dude with experiences we can all relate to.

If you are looking for an album to listen to when you need some time to relax and reflect, this may be the inspiration you were looking for.

Five stars for kicking my earass, and having the courtesy to check on me in the hospital.

Aaron from Fpo, AA 
Jun 2 2010 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Bright Eyes -I'm Wide Awake, It's Morning CD
Click for more info

Bright Eyes
I'm Wide Awake, It's Morning CD

Alright, look. I know that fellow reviewers at interpunk sometimes dish out five-star ratings like they're going out of style, but believe when I say I really mean this one.

This is a pretty upbeat album compared to some of Bright Eyes' other works. With a little thought on the listener's part, you will find that these songs fit you like an old pair of trusty jeans. If you like old pairs of trusty jeans, and folk music that leaves you feeling positive and ready for your life after you're done listening to it (may you never be done listening), it would behoove you to own this album, and then buy several hundred more to distribute throughout your community to make the world a better place.

Five stars for being next to impossible to remove from my playlists, for giving me goosebumps every time I listen to it, and for supplying a song for me and my fiance to play at our wedding (First Day of My Life). That'll do, Bright Eyes. That'll do.

Aaron from Fpo, AA 
Jun 2 2010 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Elliott Smith -New Moon (Double Disc): Best Of CD
Click for more info

Elliott Smith
New Moon (Double Disc): Best Of CD

This is a great release from a great artist. Very thoughtful lyrics and mellow sound make this an awesome album to sit back and chill out to. If you have not yet heard anything from Mr. Smith before, well, firstly, a curse on your name, a curse on your house. This is a great collection of Elliott's work, but, and maybe I'm biased here, but you can't really go wrong with ANY of his work, if you are looking for something a little cheaper to get yourself started.

First Timer is by far my favorite song from the album, as it happens to be a great song to smooch the ladies to. Other hits include the other 23 tracks.

Four stars because Best Of albums do my wallet dirty, and there are some of his songs I just could not believe didn't make it on here.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 21 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2019 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.