THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 66,682 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
22ND ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying all 10 customer reviews
 
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
David from Hagersten, Sweden 
Jul 9 2009 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Teenage Bottlerocket -Total CD
Click for more info

Teenage Bottlerocket
Total CD

This album is simply great! Being a fan of Lillingtons, I'm familiar with the sound. The best tracks are easy to point out on this record. "Radio", "So Cool", "Blood Bath at Burger King", "Stupid Games", "Fall For Me" and "So Far Away".

Great album from start to finnish. The only songs I don't care much for are "A Bomb" and "Crashing". The rest is hard not to like.

David from Hagersten, Sweden 
Mar 19 2009 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Fake Problems -It's Great To Be Alive CD
Click for more info

Fake Problems
It's Great To Be Alive CD

This is a really fun and catchy record. It's Great To Be Alive contains more various instrumentation than previous efforts. I like this record from the beginning to the end (apart from a few "filler tracks" that didn't make that much of an impression on me). From the horn section of the intense "Alligator Assasinator" to the excellent lead guitar parts in "There Are Times".

These guys are really all over the place trying to find their sound. It's a blend of folk, soul, country and punk. I can't explain it better.

It's definitely worth buying!

David from Hagersten, Sweden 
Nov 2 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Tom Gabel -Heart Burns CD
Click for more info

Tom Gabel
Heart Burns CD

As a long time fan of Against Me! I could barely wait to get this. The clips of Tom performing these songs acoustic was really great. So I had quite high expectations.

When I listened to the first song I actually thought I had gotten the wrong album. The drum machine and production sent "Random Hearts" twenty years back in time. The second track "Conceptual Paths" was completely ruined by the anoying, plastic handclap.

The songs "Harsh Realms" and "Cowards Sing At Night" feature just Tom Gabel on guitar and vocals. It's a comfortable environment for him and it works really well. The best song on the album is "Anna Is A Stool Pigeon" (did sire take out the word 'fucking' out of the title?). It was my favorite song before the album came out and it turned out really great, with Chuck Ragan from Hot Water Music featuring on the chorus.

I'm glad Tom Gabel is experimenting and doing what he wants. And he did some brave moves on this album. Some of them didn't really work for me, but hey, you can't please everybody with every single song. But fact is, the songwriting is really good on this record. Some of the songs beat the crap out of anything from "New Wave", so that's a good thing.

I think this EP is a nice effort all in all.

I'd give this album 3,5 stars.

David from Hagersten, Sweden 
Aug 31 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Alkaline Trio/Hot Water Music -Split CD
Click for more info

Alkaline Trio/Hot Water Music
Split CD

What can I say? Two great bands! "Queen Of Pain" and "While You're Waiting" are some of the Trios best songs. And the "Rooftop" cover is good as well. "God Deciding" is one of HWM's best songs. So how can this not be good?

David from Hagersten, Sweden 
Aug 31 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Gaslight Anthem -The '59 Sound CD
Click for more info

Gaslight Anthem
The '59 Sound CD

I love Gaslight Anthem. Just like their previous releases this album is great. My only problem is that they seem to have a hard time coming up with new melodies. A lot of the songs on "The '59 Sound" can be found on "Sink Or Swim" and "Senor And The Queen". Well, parts of them anyway...

Listen to "Meet Me By the River's Edge". The melody when they're singing "no surrender my Bobby Jean" sounds a little bit too much like the one on "Drive" when they're singing "go to sleep my brothers I...". There are other examples too, one being "Great Expectations" and "Wooderson". "I saw daylights last night in a dream about my first wife" sounds like "dancing my moonlight, my old friend the twilight". Many of the other songs sound familiar too.

Part from that, this album is really good. I'm not sure which songs are my favorites. But "Casanova, Baby!", "Film Noir", "Here's Looking At You Kid", "Great Expectations" and "Even Cowgirls Get The Blues" seems to be spinning most at the moment.

A little slower and a little less aggressive but a worthy follow-up to "Sink Or Swim"



David from Hagersten, Sweden 
Jul 3 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Gaslight Anthem -Senor And The Queen (EP) CD
Click for more info

Gaslight Anthem
Senor And The Queen (EP) CD

This is a nice little EP. If you liked their album you should definitely get this too. Although the chorus melody on "Blue Jeans and White T-Shirt" kinda sounds like the one on "Angry Johnny And The Radio”. Nevertheless, good effort!

David from Hagersten, Sweden 
Jul 3 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Gaslight Anthem -Sink or Swim CD
Click for more info

Gaslight Anthem
Sink or Swim CD

I don’t know where to start. The songs on this album are loaded with the same energy and honest emotion that made me fall in love with Against Me!. The first time I listened to this record I knew right away that these guys would become one of my favourite bands. The rock and roll influences makes these songs come alive and you can really hear that they enjoy playing together. It's fun, catchy and emotionally capturing at the same time.

Gaslight Anthem is more rock and roll with a punk rock attitude rather than the other way around. They are not afraid to salute their idols; The Clash ("I'da Called You Woody, Joe"), Bob Dylan ("Angry Johnny And The Radio") among others. The mix between banging anthems and slow ballads is perfect. The album starts off fast with the catchy "Boomboxes and Dictionaries" and ends with the song "Red At Night", featuring harmonica and acoustic guitar, which makes a perfect album closer.

For any fan of energetic, heartfelt rock and roll music. If you like this, also checkout The Riot Before.

David from Hagersten, Sweden 
Jul 3 2008 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Copyrights -Make Sound CD
Click for more info

Copyrights
Make Sound CD

This is competent but not interesting at all. There are a few good songs on this, but most of it just kinda sounds the same. No wonder these guys can put out record of record so fast because these songs probably didn’t take more than five minutes to write.

Don’t waste your money on this.

David from Hagersten, Sweden 
Jul 3 2008 Rating: 3/5 Stars
LaGrecia -On Parallels CD
Click for more info

LaGrecia
On Parallels CD

When Jason Shevchuk is involved in an album you have high expectations. And why shouldn’t you? The frontman from Kid Dynamite and None More Black seem to do no wrong.

You know what to expect from this album. Clever riffs, good melodies and a lot of “whoas”. It’s all there. But this just isn’t any of Shevchuk’s best work. It’s good, but not in any sense better than his previous records. The melodies aren’t that memorable and for some reason the sound quality is quite bad. Soundwise this feels somewhat like a demo.

But don’t get me wrong. This is a pretty solid album. And there are some highlights. Opening track “Hey Medic” is great. “Slower Than Manasses” is really good, although I was already tired of this song before the album came out because it was released for free on LaGrecia’s myspace spage. The same thing can be said about “You Like Baseball, I Like Ghosts”. “Two Shotguns” with its driving baseline and “My Lightning” are two other standout tracks.

Definitely worth buying but it probably won’t blow you away.

David from Hagersten, Sweden 
May 18 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Get Up Kids -Something To Write Home About CD
Click for more info

Get Up Kids
Something To Write Home About CD

Great album! "Holiday", "Action And Action", "Close To Home" and "Out Of Reach". Those songs alone makes it worth the purchase.

 
Displaying all 10 customer reviews
 
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2019 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.