THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 46,494 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
Our 23RD ANNIVERSARY!!

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
See What Just Sold






  Special Vinyl
  T-Shirt Finder
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 39 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Steve from Pittsburgh, PA 
Nov 20 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Glassjaw -Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence CD
Click for more info

Glassjaw
Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence CD

Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Silence is arguably the most important album released in the last ten years. I know that's a bold statement, but it's influenced just about every band since. I know there were similar bands like them in the underground, but like Nirvana taking grunge worldwide, Glassjaw was the most likely band to take post hardcore to the mainstream. The only problem was lyrically and at times vocally, they were just to harsh for the mainstream. It just sucks that so many bands do the sing/scream thing now that its impact should be even greater than it probably is. As for the songs, they are all really good, but When One Eight Becomes Two Zeroes and Piano stand out as the two masterpieces of the album. Sammy Siegler of Youth Of Today and Rival Schools makes his only appearance on a Glassjaw record and doesn't disappoint because his drumming is insane on this release. Todd Weinstock and Justin Beck are two of the most innovative guitarists in all of post hardcore and Manny Carrero's bass lines are solid, but this album wouldn't of worked without Daryl Palumbo's vocals. His vocals match H.R. of Bad Brains or Ray Cappo of Youth Of Today when it comes to passion and emotion. I know that's another bold statement, but this album truly is a work of art.

Steve from Pittsburgh, PA 
Nov 20 2007 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Youth Of Today -Break Down The Walls CD
Click for more info

Youth Of Today
Break Down The Walls CD

About 2 years ago I gave a bad review for We're Not In This Alone, and after receiving the aforementioned and Break Down The Walls recently, these 2 albums turned out to be great listens after all. Break Down The Walls contains classics such as Make A Change, Thinking Straight, Take A Stand , and arguably their best song Honesty. I definitely recommend this release, but I think We're Not In This Alone is better musically and lyrically so pick that one up first.

Steve from Pittsburgh, PA 
Jul 21 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Elliott -False Cathedrals CD
Click for more info

Elliott
False Cathedrals CD

Elliott always seemed like they could have been America's version of Radiohead, but of course they broke up so we'll never really know what would have become of them, and in some ways breaking up probably made them gods to underground rock fans. It seems like most of my favorite bands put out a couple releases and then call it quits. Texas Is The Reason, Turning Point, Rites Of Spring, and Saetia are prime examples of this. Although I think Elliott had around 5 or 6 releases so they had a little longevity. Anyways as for False Cathedrals, this is definately the best of the 3 Elliott CD's I own, and it's one of the finer works in the history of post hardcore/emo/indie whatever you wanna call it. The album is much more melodic than their debut U.S. Songs, but it still has a lot of all out rock songs. I also want to add that the vocals are incredible and the drummer is unbelievable on some of the tracks.

Steve from Pittsburgh, PA 
Jul 21 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Fastbreak -Whenever You're Ready CD
Click for more info

Fastbreak
Whenever You're Ready CD

Fastbreak is melodic hardcore at it's best, and I can't understand how this band were not more well known when they were out. They featured Luke Garro and Neal St. Clair of In My Eyes, but they sound more like Lifetime or 1208, than the straight edge hardcore of In My Eyes. Regardless this a great release and definately worth buying if your into bands like Lifetime.

Steve from Pittsburgh, PA 
Jul 21 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Saetia -A Retrospective CD
Click for more info

Saetia
A Retrospective CD

Extremely original and influential post hardcore band from 1997-1999 along with likeminded bands You and I, Neil Perry, Orchid, etc. were the inception of a whole new scene in underground music. It doesn't get much better than this collection, and I highly recommend this to anyone looking for something smart and different than the typical emo or metalcore garbage. Saetia is not a screamo band, the screamo label does not make sense because they sound a million times different than the screamo bands of today. As for the music, some of the best songs would have to be The Sweetness And The Light, Corporeal, Ariadne's Thread, The Poet You Never Were, Some Natures Catch No Plagues, The Burden of Reflecting, Venus and Bacchus, and Becoming The Truth.

Steve from Pittsburgh, PA 
Jul 20 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
In My Eyes -Difference Between CD
Click for more info

In My Eyes
Difference Between CD

Great Boston hardcore band from the late 90's, and even better than Ten Yard Fight in my opinion. I'm not sure if I like this as much as Nothing To Hide or their Demo CD, but it's definately worth checking out if you like Ten Yard Fight, Turning Point, Gorilla Biscuits, etc.

Steve from Pittsburgh, PA 
Jun 15 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Falling Forward -Hand Me Down CD
Click for more info

Falling Forward
Hand Me Down CD

One of the first to mix indie rock and hardcore, Falling Forward are pretty much responsible for the sound that Boy Sets Fire and Thursday have made popular. This is not anything like modern post hardcore, but fans of early Boy Sets Fire and Elliott should like this, and for those who didn't know, this was Chris Higdon's previous band before he sang for Elliott. The musicianship is great and the vocals are outstanding, but the production kinda sucks so don't expect it to be as polished as Elliott's False Cathedrals. Cross Salute is definately the best song, but Drought, Character, and Silhouette are also standout tracks.

Steve from Pittsburgh, PA 
Jun 15 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Turning Point -1988-1991 CD
Click for more info

Turning Point
1988-1991 CD

Turning Point's 1988-1991 complete discography is arguably the best collection of hardcore songs ever released. It's funny because I wasn't really into them the first time I owned this, but I'm glad I gave it another chance because there was no one releasing hardcore songs like this back then, and it was completely ahead of it's time. They've influenced everyone from Lifetime, Texas Is The Reason, Champion, Verse, Comeback Kid, and apparently even Thursday named their band after a Turning Point song, so it shows how severe an influence they were on many punk and hardcore bands. If you want something that rivals Minor Threat and Youth of Today than Turning Point is definatley worth checking out.

Steve from Pittsburgh, PA 
Feb 14 2006 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Insted -Proud Youth 1986-1991 CD
Click for more info

Insted
Proud Youth 1986-1991 CD

Pretty much your typical late 80's straight edge band that were considered the most postive in their genre and sadly one of the most generic . This discography has it's moments, but I would suggest other similar but better bands of that era like Unit Pride, Bold, Side By Side, Turning Point, Wide Awake,etc.

Steve from Pittsburgh, PA 
Feb 14 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
JDKz -Who's To Blame? CD
Click for more info

JDKz
Who's To Blame? CD

This is the second time I've bought this CD because the first time I had it I really didn't like it, but decided to give it another try and it turned out to be a pretty good CD after all. These guys were one of the first snotty Orange County hardcore bands and definately one of the best. I'm also not sure if anyone has compared Tony's vocals with Chavo from Black Flag because they are very similar, and while listening to this I was reminded of Black Flag's classic Jealous Again EP. I don't think I have to say much more because there's a lot of folks buying this on interpunk lately, and it's just cool to see people checking out quality old school hardcore punk.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 39 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review










© 1997-2021 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.