THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 66,627 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
22ND ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 43 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Vincent from Plaisir, France 
Jun 25 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Be Your Own Pet -Summer Sensation CD
Click for more info

Be Your Own Pet
Summer Sensation CD

Clearly not the most interesting BYOP release. Two of the songs are also on the first album, and the three others are brilliant (as EVERY song by this band), but exception made of "Fire department", which kicks everyone's asses, they're not made to last forever. Still a good deal, but not a must-have.

Vincent from Plaisir, France 
Sep 2 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Bad Astronaut -Twelve Small Steps, One Giant Disappointment CD
Click for more info

Bad Astronaut
Twelve Small Steps, One Giant Disappointment CD

This album is an instant classic. We all should buy five of them and save them for future generations to know it. This is the best of what modern indie pop-rock can offer. A seven pieces band playing a rock music with pop-punk background and unconscious symphonic layers. Musically, this is just as discretly genius as the first Weezer was, for example. This could sounds like simple pop-rock, but it is really more than this. This is a living album, something in which each note, each word is exactly where it should be. Nothing less, nothing more. A band at its perfection. And at its end, too. Rest In Peace, Astronaut. Your music will live forever. If any of you don't believe me, just listen to "Good morning night", "The "F" word", "San Francisco serenade" or "Best western", and tell me pop-rock has much better to offer. A band made by genius, for everyone.

Vincent from Plaisir, France 
Sep 2 2007 Rating: 3/5 Stars
V/A -Protect: A Benefit For The National Association To Protect Children CD
Click for more info

V/A
Protect: A Benefit For The National Association To Protect Children CD

Some good songs, some bad songs, some "who cares?" songs, almost nothing exclusive or new anymore... Just another compilation, actually. The hardest kind of record to review. More good songs than bad songs, by the way. If you want to help the Association, go, if you don't, click "back" on your browser.

Vincent from Plaisir, France 
Sep 1 2007 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Rocket From The Crypt -On A Rope (Extremely Limited 3 Disc Single) CD
Click for more info

Rocket From The Crypt
On A Rope (Extremely Limited 3 Disc Single) CD

"On a rope" is one of the best Rocket's songs. Which is not the case of the handful of other ones you can find here.

Vincent from Plaisir, France 
Sep 1 2007 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Regina Spektor -Soviet Kitsch CD/DVD
Click for more info

Regina Spektor
Soviet Kitsch CD/DVD

I first heard "Us" and "Chimo limo", which are two of the best songs of that year, and i believed the whole album was that brilliant and moving. It's not. Most of the songs are just... Tasteless. Not bad, not good, just here, waiting for someone who will love them; someone who is not me. But in the other hand, there is "Us", "Chimo limo" and some others, like "Ghost of corporate future". It's just an ok album. But it should have been an immortal EP.

Vincent from Plaisir, France 
Aug 29 2007 Rating: 4/5 Stars
+44 -When Your Heart Stops Beating CD
Click for more info

+44
When Your Heart Stops Beating CD

Yep, i was a Blink-182 fan. And i hated Angels and Airwaves. So, consciously or not, i was expecting the worst from +44. And the worst is not here, really not. One of the first good surprise is that even if +44 is still a pop-punk band, it really never tries to play on the same ground than Blink. It's a more self-confident and mature band (these two adjectives are not objectively positive, don't get me wrong), and the songs reflect it, as the lyrics do. Actually, the lyrics do not reflect a lot of things, they are the problem of this album, but it's ok, one can go through this difficulty. No, really, a good surprise. Some songs ("Lycanthrope", "When your heart stop beating", "Make you smile" or "No it isn't") are just great and could stay in your head for a day without annoying you. Not a must have, but not a useless album neither. A good pop-punk/rock record, and on some songs, even a slighty original one. And absolutely not a pompous and vain effort who tries to be more than it does anything. Yes, i think of AvA.

Vincent from Plaisir, France 
Aug 28 2007 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Secret Handshake -Summer Of '98 CD
Click for more info

Secret Handshake
Summer Of '98 CD

Better than "This is more than you and me", his previous recording! But still not totally devastating. The Secret Handshake is a strange project. It feels like it could be THE most exciting thing around, and it almost always just happen to be another project within an ocean of other ones. The song "Summer of '98" is a really great one, as is "Too young". These two first tracks could be a reason good enough to buy the cd. And they actually will be the only one, considering that "Don't call" is as a what's-the-point-y song as it was on "This is more than you and me", and that the remixes are, to be polite, useless. It really annoys me. This project could be so great, i feel it... Let's wait for the first album in some weeks!

Vincent from Plaisir, France 
Aug 28 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Lucero -Rebels, Rogues And Sworn Brothers CD
Click for more info

Lucero
Rebels, Rogues And Sworn Brothers CD

On the internet every fan was crying and screaming about how the fact that Lucero has a keyboard on their new album is the greatest blasphemy ever made by man. I think the keyboard fits so well with the whole that the blasphemy was to not have had one before. Still the same powerful and uplifting rock-country, still talking about girls, lovelessness, bottles, friends, childhood, absence of god... Still the same thing than before, but better. As it always was with each record. Ok, perhaps with the exception of "That much further west", one of the best records ever made, in my opinion. It's strange, but i just can't think of a band playing in the same playground they do. It's strange because, when you listen to them, it doesn't sound that original. But really, it is. It's deep, powerful, true, sad... Fuck, it's all i love in music. Raw whisky voice, some acoustic songs who don't sound like fucking ballads, moving lyrics... As on "Nobody's darlings", the last song is an acoustic one, and is also the best track of the album. It's called "She wakes when she dreams" and it will kill you. You can feel this band is real, living, and made music because that's what they are, not because that's what they want.

Vincent from Plaisir, France 
Aug 28 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Be Your Own Pet -Be Your Own Pet LP
Click for more info

Be Your Own Pet
Be Your Own Pet LP

One of the best damn rock albums of these last years! Savage, out of ontrol, groovy and challenging. These teenagers could kick any official punk's ass. They're just about 17 years old and are already like a permanently blowing storm. It sounds like The Stooges with ten times more power, thundering female vocals, amazing speed and energy, and not any note of uninterest. MUST BLOODY HAVE.

Vincent from Plaisir, France 
Aug 28 2007 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Lars Frederiksen And The Bastards -Switchblade Single LP
Click for more info

Lars Frederiksen And The Bastards
Switchblade Single LP

Clearly not a must have. "Vietnam" is still probably one of the best Lars' songs, but any fan already has it on the first album. And "Switchblade" is not that an immortal song. The vinyl itself is not special or beautiful or anything. I can't understand the point of this record. Only for die hard fans. The two mark is only for "Vietnam".

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 43 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2020 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.