THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 66,336 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
20TH ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

Winter CLEARANCE Sale
View Colored Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
20% OFF Small Merch
Exclusive Limited Vinyl






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 17 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Matt from Pittsburgh, PA 
Apr 14 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Big D And The Kids Table -Strictly Rude CD
Click for more info

Big D And The Kids Table
Strictly Rude CD

If you like ska, buy this. Simply put, Big D have put together the best ska record in years with Strictly Rude. You can hear little bits of all types of ska in these songs, from The Toasters to Less Than Jake and everything in between. Shining On is a perfect summer song, and is worth the price of admission on its own.

Matt from Pittsburgh, PA 
Feb 27 2007 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Smoke Or Fire -This Sinking Ship CD
Click for more info

Smoke Or Fire
This Sinking Ship CD

I'm really torn on this. I wasn't a huge fan of Above the City because I thought it was a tad bland. Some of it I really really liked, but as a whole I thought it was a teeny bit lacking. I was sure that this record will find Smoke or Fire matured and fine tuned to perfection. Not so. Most of the record is really good, but there are at least three tracks that are so goddamn generic they're tough to get through. Some of the stuff on here is lyrically really controversial for a punk band, in a good way. Songs such as Patty Hearst and Folding the Pages are awesome, if only the whole record could have maintained that high mark...Still, this record is much better than any of that Fearless/Victory garbage. Just saying.

Matt from Pittsburgh, PA 
Feb 27 2007 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Comeback Kid -Broadcasting... CD
Click for more info

Comeback Kid
Broadcasting... CD

So far I'm not liking it as much as Wake the Dead, but it is definitely as good. The production on this record is the best I've heard in a while. It's perfect, everything is clear, and the gang vocals...oh my, the gang vocals are pure joy. Put it in, turn it way way up, and bask in the glow of perfectly produced and mixed hardcore.

Matt from Pittsburgh, PA 
Feb 27 2007 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Comeback Kid -Wake The Dead CD
Click for more info

Comeback Kid
Wake The Dead CD

Honestly, the title track is worth the price alone. Wake the Dead is absolutely amazing. Pounding hardcore with a positive message, it's a great combination. I'm not into hardcore music so much because most of it seems really immature; lots and lots of misplaced aggression and posturing. Comeback Kid is not like this. Some of the stuff can get a tad whiny hear and there, but the overall tone is very positive. Oh, and the music sounds great too, ha.

Matt from Pittsburgh, PA 
Feb 27 2007 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Big D And The Kids Table/Brain Failure -Beijing To Boston Split CD
Click for more info

Big D And The Kids Table/Brain Failure
Beijing To Boston Split CD

It's Big D and Brain Failure, enough said. Both are lots and lots of fun, and so is this record. If you don't know either already, Big D is a super fun ska band from Boston and Brain Failure is a punk/ska act from Beijing. This record's chalk full of punk and ska tunes that will get stuck in your head for days. You'll love it.

Matt from Pittsburgh, PA 
Feb 12 2007 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Heavens -Patent Pending CD
Click for more info

Heavens
Patent Pending CD

Is this record great? Probably not. Is this record good? Possibly not. Objectively, I don't think Heavens is really that great, and if you aren't into super-dramatic music mixed with overwrought, halloween lyrics you probably won't like it. The music is really cool, and Skiba has a good voice, but a lot of people would probably walk away from this one with the word "cheesy" in mind. I, however, love it.

Anyone who listened to Skiba's old acoustic split CD with Kevin Seconds and loved it knows where I'm coming from. Sure his lyrics may be somewhat corny, but there just seems to be a certain charm to them that gets me to love them anyway.

Matt from Pittsburgh, PA 
Feb 12 2007 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Falcon -Unicornography CD
Click for more info

Falcon
Unicornography CD

So if you're looking at this record chances are you are going to buy it simply because of Dan and Brendan. If you are not in this camp, and you are not aware of The Larry Arms and/or Alkaline Trio then hold up. Buy Apathy and Exhaustion and Goddamnit, and listen to them. Both of those records are better than this. However, if you are familiar with any of that stuff, then chances are you'll like this too. Is it amazing? Not really. Is it lots of fun and worth your time? Sure. Good music from some great Chicago kids.

Matt from Pittsburgh, PA 
Feb 12 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Strike Anywhere -Dead FM CD
Click for more info

Strike Anywhere
Dead FM CD

Possibly the most "punk" contemporary band. Regardless, this record is an absolute masterpiece of vintage hardcore punk. Strike Anywhere is the embodiment of the culture; they've got the ideals, the awareness, and most of all the energy. All of these elements appear in spades on Dead FM. Also, the songs are just plain fun to sing along with. Put down that Brand New record, and pick up this one...unless you want punk to die. You don't want that, do you sir?

Matt from Pittsburgh, PA 
Feb 12 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Sparta -Threes CD
Click for more info

Sparta
Threes CD

I think Sparta is kind of like the scene version of U2. That may sound horrible, but I mean it as a compliment. Sparta just seems to have that large scope, arena ready feel to their songs. Everything is big, from the riffs to the way the songs are often structured around a few lines and a big crescendo. Threes is easily their best record yet, as they finally seem to be comfortable in their little niche. Lyrically, it's a nice progression from Porcelain; the shift from mournful and confused to picking up and moving on is really nice.

Matt from Pittsburgh, PA 
Feb 12 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Lawrence Arms -Oh! Calcutta! CD
Click for more info

Lawrence Arms
Oh! Calcutta! CD

Like every other Lawrence Arms record, this rocks hard enough to make your face explode in a pleasant way. It's certainly stripped down and gritty compared to Greatest Story Ever Told, which is a nice, energetic change. Lots of catchy choruses and great lyrics as usual. These guys don't make bad records.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 17 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2019 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.