THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 55,420 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
22ND ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 12 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
John from Boston, MA 
Oct 17 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Andrew Jackson Jihad -People Who Can Eat People... LP
Click for more info

Andrew Jackson Jihad
People Who Can Eat People... LP

Andrew Jackson Jihad is the most brutal band on the planet. The music is some of the best "folk punk" ever. The lyrics are easily my favorites. This album is the best album of 2007.

John from Boston, MA 
Oct 17 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Husker Du -Zen Arcade (Double) LP
Click for more info

Husker Du
Zen Arcade (Double) LP

Everything about this album is perfect. Husker Du's songwriting is powerful and emotional, and musically it just fucking rocks. This is the best album ever made.

John from Sayville, NY 
Oct 17 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Black Flag -Nervous Breakdown 7

Black Flag
Nervous Breakdown 7"

This album is punk rock's crowning achievement. It will never be beaten for pure aggression. This is what you hear in your head when you are angry.

John from Sayville, NY 
Aug 16 2007 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Black Flag -Annihilate This Week CD
Click for more info

Black Flag
Annihilate This Week CD

This is some good late black flag. But these songs all appear elsewhere. I'd probably save up and buy Who's Got the 10 1/2, but I don't know how good that is becayse I don't own it. Sinking is the best of the three tracks.

John from Sayville, NY 
Mar 19 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Me First And The Gimme Gimmes -Are A Drag CD
Click for more info

Me First And The Gimme Gimmes
Are A Drag CD

For Christmas, my brother bought my mom a copy of the Gimmes' "Ruin Johnny's Bar Mitzvah." I'd go into that in more detail, but I don't really know all of the facts. Long story short, my mom fucking loved it. And what else does my mom love? That's right, show tunes. So I bought her this CD, and It didn't disappoint.

I am a big NOFX fan, but never had the money to buy a Gimmes CD, so when I ordered this, I was really excited. I think the sense of humor, which is what I love so much about NOFX, is what makes this band so fucking great. The version of "Favorite things" with the intro from "Generator" is balls ass hilarious!

Anyway, musically this is good ol' pop-punk. Lyrically, well, it's fucking show tunes. It's obviously not "Walk Among Us," London Calling," or "Never Mind the Bollocks." But what it lacks in lyrical originality, it makes up for in listenability and irreverence.

Get it. If not for yourself, for your parents. They'll love it.

John from Boston, MA 
Mar 19 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Sundowner -Four One Five Two CD
Click for more info

Sundowner
Four One Five Two CD

I guess if you're reading you know all the pertinent preliminary shit like who sundowner is, and why if you don't like him you should just stop trying; so I won't bore you with all of that. This album is fucking fantastic. I have not been able to stop listening to it myself, and most people I know are very impressed with it. What is so good you may be asking? Well I'm glad you asked. Chris McCaughan is probably one of the best songwriters in punk rock today, and as a result, the lyrics are quite meaningful and powerful. The music is simple pared down folk stuff in much the same vein as Chuck Ragan's solo work or Saw Wheel, but with a bit more to it. Jenny (who's last name I don't know) adds some string arrangements, and a very haunting female vocal to the melange which gives the album a power and beauty that was missing just a little bit from the original myspace recordings. To wrap up, this is pretty fucking different from the Lawrence Arms or Broadways, but It's incredibly fucking good. Buy this one very very quickly because we'll all be living under water soon.

John from Sayville, NY 
Dec 31 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Every Time I Die -Hot Damn CD
Click for more info

Every Time I Die
Hot Damn CD

I will start this by saying that this band is pretty much the only hardcore band i like. That may change considering how much I love this album, but as of right now, they are the sole band on my hardcore list. Anyway, this album gets a five because it has a real sense of humor, and real energy and passion. There is also a southern rock influence in the music. This cd is a very good hardcore starter i'd say because it is pretty authentic hardcore, while being fairly palatable. Worth it to me.

John from Sayville, NY 
Dec 31 2006 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Refused -Shape of Punk to Come - Chimerical Bombination in CD
Click for more info

Refused
Shape of Punk to Come - Chimerical Bombination in CD

I have only listened to this album once since buying it, so don't take this review super seriously. I didn't like it too much. My favorite song, and the reason I bought the album, is new noise. Few of the songs have the same real passion as that one. The album is not awful, but it is not as good as I expected. A few good songs, but I havent listened enough to tell you what they are. Maybe buy this album, but not if you think all the songs have the energy of something like new noise.

John from Sayville, NY 
Dec 31 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Matt Skiba/Kevin Seconds -Split CD
Click for more info

Matt Skiba/Kevin Seconds
Split CD

As an alkaline trio fan, I was expecting something just a tiny bit different, but I was truly impressed. Skiba's half of the album is similar to his songs from Alkaline Trio, but slightly less dark, and obviously acoustic. The cover of Soul to keep is very beautifully done. Kevin Second's side is different. I don't listen to seven seconds, so I can't make a comparison to that sound. What I can say is that his side is very poppy. I loved it. It may not be your thing if you are into the dark emo influenced punk of alkaline trio, but I enjoyed it. The musicianship is nothing special really, but the passion is real, and it comes through to make the album fantastic. Buy this if you like the acoustic stuff from Alkaline trio.

John from Sayville, NY 
Dec 31 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Honor System -100% Synthetic CD
Click for more info

Honor System
100% Synthetic CD

As a Chicago punk enthusiast, I strongly reccomend this cd. However, it is not a "punk" cd (not that these stupid genre labels mean anything.) It is a truly fantastic rock and roll album by a band that should have done better and lasted longer. They are all truly talented musicians, and the songs are incredibly well written. The message is clear so if you happen to be more conservative in political persuasion and don't like music that isnt (which would also be stupid, but I'm guilty of the opposite issue so I guess I should shut the fuck up) maybe stay away. Again, not a punk album, but very good, and a very good post-hardcore album if i must give a genre. Very different from single file, but pretty similar to rise and run. Buy it if you care about chicago punk rock too.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 12 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review










© 1997-2020 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.