THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 66,336 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
20TH ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

Winter CLEARANCE Sale
View Colored Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
20% OFF Small Merch
Exclusive Limited Vinyl






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying all 10 customer reviews
 
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Ryan from Abbotsford, BC Canada 
Jun 4 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Appleseed Cast -Two Conversations CD
Click for more info

Appleseed Cast
Two Conversations CD

While this album is a bit poppier than ASC's earlier work, it is still a beautiful album. Their sound has evolved from LLO and especially from Mare Vitalis. It is generally more mellow and more accessible than their previous releases. Most songs are to-the-point and have conservative song structures, which is an asset is some ways and a drawback in others. It is great that the Appleseed Cast is recording something that will hopefully get them the attention they deserve, but it also takes away some the creativity and experimentation of some of their past work, particularly the brilliant LLO albums. Still, I gave this album five stars for its sheer beauty song after song. Get the LLO albums first, then buy this one.

Ryan from Abbotsford, BC Canada 
Jun 4 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Appleseed Cast -Low Level Owl Vol. 2 CD
Click for more info

Appleseed Cast
Low Level Owl Vol. 2 CD

Low Level Owls Volume 2 begins where Volume 1 ends. It is similar in many ways to the first volume, though it is not quite as strong. The first volume was more varied with songs that were taken in different directions. This is a more straightforward album with songs that are very similar in style. Most songs are very slow and mellow with not many structural changes. That said, this was the only disappointing aspect of the album. This is still a gorgeous set of songs. Once again, ASC has recorded a set of songs that feel more like one long masterpiece. If you plan on buying LLOV1, buy this along with it as they are meant to be one long album. If you enjoy beautiful music, you will not be disappointed.

Ryan from Abbotsford, BC Canada 
Jun 4 2008 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Appleseed Cast -Low Level Owl Vol. 1 CD
Click for more info

Appleseed Cast
Low Level Owl Vol. 1 CD

This, along with LLOV2, is ASC in their prime. This volume is slightly better than the second as it has more variety amongst the songs, but both are equally beautiful. It feels more like one long masterpiece as opposed to a bunch of decent songs. The experimentation with atmospheric sounds and ambiance create a very lush album full of beautiful noise. A few songs are pure ambiance, which may turn some off, but it adds to the brilliance and uniqueness of the album. The more upbeat tracks sound similar to their previous work, but it has cleaner production and makes for smoother strings. Botttom line: buy this album.

Ryan from Abbotsford, BC Canada 
Jun 4 2008 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Appleseed Cast -Mare Vitalis CD
Click for more info

Appleseed Cast
Mare Vitalis CD

This is ultimately a very strong album. It is not one of my favorite ASC albums, but it is a very good indie rock/post-emo record. The drumming stands out as it is creative and hectic but still tight. This is one ASC album that I sometimes find boring, but the raw power and emotion throughout the record still makes it a must own for fans of the band. If you are just getting into this band, I would suggest getting the Low Level Owl records first. Those are ASC at their absolute best.

Ryan from Abbotsford, BC Canada 
Nov 8 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Kaospilot -Kaospilot CD
Click for more info

Kaospilot
Kaospilot CD

For a debut full length, I was very impressed by Kaospilot. They are able to be very chaotic, but control themselves enough to make it very effective. Varying time signatures keep the songs interesting throughout the entire album, but on the whole, their sound does get tiring after a few listens. But, when you are in the mood for something dark (like the cover art, which is very nice by the way) and edgy with tons of passion, look no further than Kaospilot. Definitely pick this up if you're a fan bands such as Orchid, Saetia, and Neil Perry.

Ryan from Abbotsford, BC Canada 
Nov 7 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Orchid -Gatefold CD
Click for more info

Orchid
Gatefold CD

Although it is true that Orchid changed their sound slightly by the time of this release, it is still undeniably Orchid, and I believe it is on par with their other releases. With all of the disappointed customers, I was hesitant about making this perchase, but I'm glad I did. This is an outstanding album, but if you have not purchased Orchid's other records, I would buy those first, since those are what I would say are their "true sound". Then, buy this. Who cares if the packaging isn't the greatest. The kick-ass music is what you're paying for.

Ryan from Abbotsford, BC Canada 
Nov 7 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Ampere -All Our Tomorrows End Today 3

Ampere
All Our Tomorrows End Today 3" CD

This album hits you hard. It's fast and chaotic without losing the melody. Ampere is one of the best bands of the "emo" genre that are still around today, and it shows in this short but sweet release. The only reason I gave it a four was because it is so incredibly short, clocking in at a mere 11 minutes. But there is so much energy and emotion crammed into those 11 minutes, which makes up for it. Great great release.

Ryan from Abbotsford, BC Canada 
Oct 31 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Saetia -A Retrospective CD
Click for more info

Saetia
A Retrospective CD

Saetia is one of my favorite bands. If your a fan of real emo, this album MUST be in your collection. Saetia was one of the first bands to make the emo sound popular again in the late 90's, and nearly re-defined the genre. This album contains everything they've released, as well as five live tracks, so you really can't go wrong. Everything is here: beautiful melodies, emotional vocals, meaningful lyrics, and relentless drive. This is, and I think will always be, in my top 5 favorite albums.

Ryan from Abbotsford, BC Canada 
Oct 31 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Orchid -Chaos Is Me/Dance Tonight CD
Click for more info

Orchid
Chaos Is Me/Dance Tonight CD

Well, I think everything good about this band has already been expressed in previous reviews. Hard, chaotic riffs are constant throughout these 21 songs. These are probably Orchid's best tracks, so I would buy this before any of their other releases. These guys are credited by many to be the pioneers of the "screamo" sound, so if you're new to the genre, this album would be an essential addition to your collection.

Ryan from Abbotsford, BC Canada 
Oct 31 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Circle Takes The Square -As The Roots Undo CD
Click for more info

Circle Takes The Square
As The Roots Undo CD

If Circle Takes The Square is able to write a better album than this, I would honestly soil my shorts. This is an incredible debut full length. The vocals are delivered with such passion, its almost painful to listen to. ALMOST. They go in so many different directions in many of their songs, such as In The Nervous Light Of Sunday, that they always keep you on your toes. Every song is chaotic and hard without losing their beautifully written melodies. A must-buy if you're a fan of bands such as Saetia, Orchid, Kaospilot, Neil Perry, or other bands of this genre.

 
Displaying all 10 customer reviews
 
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2019 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.