THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 66,336 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
20TH ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

Winter CLEARANCE Sale
View Colored Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
20% OFF Small Merch
Exclusive Limited Vinyl






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 15 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Mike from Santa Cruz, CA 
Jul 2 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Buried Inside -Chronoclast CD
Click for more info

Buried Inside
Chronoclast CD

This album is really fucking incredible. Great art, great lyrics, great flow. Reminiscent of ISIS, but sounds nothing like them really.

Mike from Santa Cruz, CA 
Jul 2 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Circle Takes The Square -As The Roots Undo CD
Click for more info

Circle Takes The Square
As The Roots Undo CD

Pretentious frantic hardcore with a female backup singer. Can't wait to see what else these guys produce in the future.

Mike from Santa Cruz, CA 
Mar 7 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Converge -When Forever Comes Crashing (Reissue) CD
Click for more info

Converge
When Forever Comes Crashing (Reissue) CD

This album took the longest out of any Converge album to grow on me. But now that it has, it is one of my favorites. I think it's the distinctly darker, sludgier tone on this album that initially turned me off to it, but now I get what they were going for and I absolutely love it. Don't listen to this if you want to be in a good mood.

Mike from Santa Cruz, CA 
Mar 7 2006 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Black Dahlia Murder -Unhallowed CD
Click for more info

Black Dahlia Murder
Unhallowed CD

This band was better when they were called At The Gates. Don't get me wrong, I like BDM (and ATG) and they put on a great live show, but it is a little annoying when one band sounds almost exactly like another band. One difference between the two bands however is that BDM, at least on this album, has way worse guitar solos. I don't know what it is, they're plenty fast, they're in key, they just suck a little bit. Also, this gets pretty repetitive after a while- most of the songs have approximately the same beat, same key, same vocals.

Mike from Santa Cruz, CA 
Mar 7 2006 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Death By Stereo -Death For Life CD
Click for more info

Death By Stereo
Death For Life CD

Really, it's not that bad. It's not that good either, if you started listening to DBS before this. The guitar lines are cool, but just nowhere near as crazy as they used to be. Efrem's voice is a lot more controlled on this album- so in some ways it sounds better than ever, but in other ways it sounds like he lost some intensity. Lyrics are terrible as always, but maybe worse this time, simply because he uses the word "cum" somewhat excessively. It made me laugh when I first realized that, but then it kind of just annoyed me. I can still listen to the first 2 DBS albums, but I'm already over this one, so I give it a 3.

Mike from Santa Cruz, CA 
Mar 7 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Norma Jean -Bless The Martyr And Kiss The Child CD
Click for more info

Norma Jean
Bless The Martyr And Kiss The Child CD

Not that this album hasn't been reviewed enough before, but it really is very very good. It's long, but doesn't really seem that way because the album flows so well. I recently learned how to play some of the songs on guitar and I was kind of dissapointed how simple they were though. Kinda took some of the magic out of it. Still, it's better than most hardcore albums and no matter how many times I listen to it, the end of Memphis always brings chills down my spine.

Mike from Santa Cruz, CA 
Mar 7 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Number Twelve Looks Like You -Nuclear Sad Nuclear CD
Click for more info

Number Twelve Looks Like You
Nuclear Sad Nuclear CD

This is a great album. #12 has a very distinct sound- high-pitched Locusty scream vocals over extremely fast and technical guitar and drum lines with a few completely out of left field interludes. The recording is general pretty good, but you can't hear the bass at all during a lot of it, and sometimes the drums are a little sloppy. Sometimes they'll be playing a riff that is almost incredibly awesome, but it never builds or pays off, and they just switch to something completely different all of sudden. I guess that's just part of their style, but I can't help but think this could have been better if they spent more time tweaking their songwriting.

Mike from Santa Cruz, CA 
Mar 7 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Botch -We Are The Romans CD
Click for more info

Botch
We Are The Romans CD

This is fucking awesome. Their best full length, for sure. Has a really good flow as an album, mixing in heavy, heavy breakdowns with fast math shit, and throwing in some slow, zone-out textures reminiscent of Cave-In or ISIS for good measure. This was way ahead of it's time and is now a defining work of the hardcore genre.

Mike from Santa Cruz, CA 
Mar 7 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Chariot -Everything Is Alive Everything Is Breathing Nothing Is Dead And Nothing... CD
Click for more info

Chariot
Everything Is Alive Everything Is Breathing Nothing Is Dead And Nothing... CD

Love the raw sound of the recordings, which I think they lost on their newest EP (which is still good, just different). It's like a heavier Norma Jean, and without the long instrumentals. All breakdowns, all the time. It's cool, but they could really mix it up a little more.

Mike from Santa Cruz, CA 
Apr 21 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Avenged Sevenfold -Waking The Fallen CD
Click for more info

Avenged Sevenfold
Waking The Fallen CD

I like album intros, but man the song Waking the Fallen sucks. It's totally boring. I usually skip it. The rest of the album fucking rips though. Any album that makes me want to keep rewinding so I can learn all the guitar parts is cool in my book. I especially like playing the riffs in Unholy Confessions and Desecrate Through Reverance.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 15 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2019 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.