THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 66,460 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
20TH ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 12 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Brian from Boise, ID 
Jan 9 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Indian Summer -Hidden Arithmetic CD
Click for more info

Indian Summer
Hidden Arithmetic CD

This CD is basically the two live sets that have been floating around for a while compiled together. The Live Blue Universe set is absolutely essential listening for fans of this style (the 1994 emo style), and the Live at Pitzer College (the first set you hear) is much less so, but still interesting to hear (for example, the way they have a Bessie Smith record playing in the background all the way through both sets - something not nearly as prominent on the discography CD - and other interesting quirks here and there). "Sugar Pill" (Indian Summer actually never named these songs, so I'm using the fan-given titles) goes from being one of the less interesting tracks on the discography CD to being one of the more interesting tracks here, where it's combined with "Aren't You Angel." The presentation is nice. The packaging contains absolutely no information about the contents of the CD whatsoever, and yet, it's unusually above-and-beyond the call of duty. There's not jewelcase, instead opting for a cardboard box (not a digipack, an actual box), a small insert containing nothing more than a picture of some sort, and then a hand-numbered sleeve with doodles drawn on it (which aren't totally unique - a friend of mine got the same thing doodled on his that I had on mine, the only difference was that his was sloppier). So yeah, this is only being pressed once, so you should probably get it while you can. It's definitely worth it.

Brian from Boise, ID 
Jan 9 2007 Rating: 4/5 Stars
V/A -Don't Forget To Breathe CD
Click for more info

V/A
Don't Forget To Breathe CD

Of the tracks on this comp, only the Seven Storey Mountain (sic) and Uni-V tracks outright suck (they sound, basically like really bad late-90's "grunge" complete with wannabe Kurt Cobains for singers - lame). Everything else ranges from good, but bland to really, really awesome. The Mineral, Christie Front Drive, Promise Ring, Ethel Meserve, Boys Life, Drive Like Jehu, and Knapsack tracks are reason enough to buy this. The Hot Water Music track is on one of their actual albums, but it's a good one. I really loved the Silver Scooter track, too. It's "cute." Overall, there aren't that many bad songs on here, and this comp mostly rules. If you're into this sort of music, then pick it up, for sure. It's basically a "who's who" of the style at the time.

Brian from Boise, ID 
Jan 31 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Toasters -Don't Let The Bastards Grind You Down CD
Click for more info

Toasters
Don't Let The Bastards Grind You Down CD

It's a classic third-wave record, and you heard 'em! OUT OF PRINT! Get it while you can! If you like ska, there's no excuse to not own this album. In fact, you're less of a person for it!

Brian from Boise, ID 
Jan 31 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Toasters -Skaboom! CD
Click for more info

Toasters
Skaboom! CD

This is a great album aside from a few things: for one, a lot of these songs ended up on other albums. For another, it's just too long. I can't listen to it all in one sitting. However, it's some of the best two-tone/third-wave (depending on how you want to classify it) ska out there. I'd say pick it up, put some songs on a mix-tape with some other stuff.

Brian from Boise, ID 
Jan 31 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
City Of Caterpillar -City Of Caterpillar CD
Click for more info

City Of Caterpillar
City Of Caterpillar CD

This is absolutely epic. That's the only way to describe it. Think Pg.99 meets Mogwai, with a bit more overall crunch than, say, "Document #7," and you've got this album. This one is already a classic.

Brian from Boise, ID 
Jan 31 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Toasters -Dub 56 CD
Click for more info

Toasters
Dub 56 CD

The Coolie Ranx tracks are the some of the best songs the Toasters have ever put out. So, of course, picking this up while you still can is a no-brainer.

The rest of the album is pretty standard for The Toasters, which means it's damn good. Pick this one up.

Brian from Boise, ID 
Jan 31 2006 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Bruce Lee Band -B. Lee Band CD
Click for more info

Bruce Lee Band
B. Lee Band CD

I didn't really dig this album as much as a lot of people on here seemed to. Very few of the songs really managed to hold my attention, and there's no way I can sit through this entire album all at once (and believe me, like a good listener, I've tried). I guess it's great, if you absolutely loved Skankin' Pickle, but it just doesn't live up to the standard Mike set way back then.

Brian from Boise, ID 
Jan 31 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Still Life -From Angry Heads With Skyward Eyes CD
Click for more info

Still Life
From Angry Heads With Skyward Eyes CD

This one is a classic! There are no really bad songs on it, although the vocalist can be pretty annoying at first. Also, it sort of drags near the middle, but "A Song About Love" mercifully provides a slap in the face with a piano part that makes the song that much more powerful. And from there, everything is solid. Pick this one up.

Brian from Boise, ID 
Jan 31 2006 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Angel Hair -Pregnant With The Senior Class CD
Click for more info

Angel Hair
Pregnant With The Senior Class CD

This isn't really bad, but it's not really great, either. The sound has been done before a million times, and the lyrics are stream of consciousness... and... well, their consciousness is pretty damn awkward (although I do have to give them some degree of credit for actually including the lyrics). Where this album really shines is the cover of "Stigmata Martyr" (originally by Bauhaus, for the uninformed), which manages to be both chaotic and composed at the same time.

These guys played damn tight, but overall, it just wasn't anything special.

Brian from Boise, ID 
Jan 31 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Christie Front Drive -Anthology CD
Click for more info

Christie Front Drive
Anthology CD

This CD is a collection of 7"s, and really isn't quite as good as the full-length LP (considering that it's a compilation rather than a full album, though, it is surprisingly cohesive). However, there isn't a bad song on it, so I still recommend it if you like the band.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 12 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2019 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.