THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 55,481 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
22ND ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 27 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Philip from Urbana, IL 
Jan 18 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Dance Hall Crashers -Live At The House Of Blues; Episode #18 of The Show Must Go Off DVD
Click for more info

Dance Hall Crashers
Live At The House Of Blues; Episode #18 of The Show Must Go Off DVD

I found this DVD to be great for two reasons. First of all, Kung Fu Films do a great job of producing quality videos with good live song. And secondly, the Dance Hall Crashers are a great live band.

Be sure to pick up this item if you are a fan of any Dance Hall Crashers material, especially if you enjoy their "Live Record". They also through in a new song in their set "Don't Call",(which is not on any record. The song is very good and shows that DHC is sticking with the same fomula they always have.

Great show, great songs, great band = GREAT ITEM.



Philip from Urbana, IL 
Sep 12 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Amazing Transparent Man -Print Is Dead CD
Click for more info

Amazing Transparent Man
Print Is Dead CD

This is by far my favorite ATM album (I own them all). They still manage to write great catchy songs and keep their unique sense of humor wrapped around every lyric. The album starts off with probably the best song on the album. The lyrics revolve around board games, video games, and schoolyard games. The chorus is an instant classic, "You've been play games right from the start / Your battleship is blowing me apart, yeah! / You've been playing Clue right from the start / it's my up in your bedroom / the weapon is your heart." (Now how can you not love that?)

"Pink Eye", "So When Did Everyone in a Band Become Such a Hairfarmer?", and "I.G.C." are probably my favorite songs. "Pink Eye" is a sad song that has also Alkaline Trio* type lyrics, dark and depressing, but it still have such a fun pop-punk taste to it. "...and I don't talk to anyone / and I haven't told anybody else, since that night that I told you / There's demons swimming in my head. / So many that they turn both my eyes red / but I’m such a coward that they turn them pink instead."

"...Hairfarmer" has one of the funniest and most clever lyrics I’ve ever heard in a song; "God is love, and love is dumb, and I am dumb, so I am God" it's pop-punk catchiness, clever lyrics, and unique style make this such a fun album.

If you've heard ATM before, this is their finest hour. If you want to buy your first ATM album, buy this!! I haven't put this down since I got it. Sadly ATM broke up a month or so ago, I would really have liked to hear them if they continued on the path this album took, it would be incredible. But all good things must come to an end.

If you like Alkaline Trio, (older)** blink-182, Green Day, or the Smoking Popes, definitely look into ATM, they are one of my favorite bands. Thanks for reading my review.

* -note- If you Alkaline Trio fans get mad for me comparing those lyrics to them, i'm sorry. It was just the similar band I could think of at the time. And ATM likes Alkaline Trio, it's okay.

** -note- I have nothing against new blink-182. I am a fan both old and new blink-182 material. but the style of older blink is much more like ATM, so that's why I made the '(older)' caption.

Philip from Urbana, IL 
May 29 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Goldfinger -Live At The House Of Blues - The Show Must Go Off! DVD
Click for more info

Goldfinger
Live At The House Of Blues - The Show Must Go Off! DVD

Once again Kung-fu films makes a great concert DVD. These people do great work. And Goldfinger puts on a good show. As you can see from the set list, they play a few songs from each album, which is good, and they sound good live as well. I really enjoyed this DVD (although I could of gone without seeing Darrin in a thong).

The band commentary good as well, they talk about how they play certain songs at certain points in the set, How Tony Hawk's Pro Skater was the biggest break the band ever got, and a few funny comments like Darrin chanting "Shave my Back" over the lyrics "take me back" during Goldfingers performance of "San Simieon". The special features also contain a lot of backstage footage, homemade music videos of "Spokesman", "San Simeion", and a few others. Also old footage that has older guitarist Charlie and old bass player Simon in it.

This a great DVD, great show, great songs, great special features. Kung-fu films puts together get shows. I recommend the Reel Big Fish dvd as well.

Philip from Urbana, IL 
Apr 11 2004 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Maxeen -Maxeen CD
Click for more info

Maxeen
Maxeen CD

Maxeen, a really fun and unique rock band. The kick off the album with "Please", which is a really upbeat, fun song with good guitar riffs and catchy lyrics. "Shuffling My Feet" is another really catchy track. I guess I would call those two songs my favorite songs.

If you've heard anything by Maxeen and like it, you'll probably like the whole album. It's all the same style and quality. I like them, I can't think of anything bad to say about them. A taste of something different from the stuff I usually hear in punk rock, so I like this album. Not a favorite album, but a good one none the less.

Philip from Urbana, IL 
Apr 11 2004 Rating: 3/5 Stars
V/A -Elmhurst Vs. Villa Park CD
Click for more info

V/A
Elmhurst Vs. Villa Park CD

It seems I've come across a few Chicago area local compilations, this one is probably near the bottom of this list, it just isn't that good. It's nice to hear some rare songs from bands like Showoff and the Plain White T's, but otherwise I can't remember much from this album. The Audio Projects were a nice surprise, they have a really good synth intro. But most of these bands aren't even together anymore from what I know. It's nice to listen through, but a few times through, and you're pretty much done with it. So, if you want to hear some okay songs by some old bands, take a chance with this.

Philip from Urbana, IL 
Apr 11 2004 Rating: 3/5 Stars
V/A -My So-Called Punk Rock Life CD
Click for more info

V/A
My So-Called Punk Rock Life CD

The comp looked good when I bought it, but it didn't stay in my CD player for very long. It's full of old school style pop-punk. Three-chord punk rock, which is good. Just some of the songs are kinda cheesy and it got old quickly. But if you really like old school pop-punk, then get this CD. Most of the songs are good, but a few just are not that good. It's not great, it's not bad. It's just borderline for me. Take a chance and see for yourself.

Philip from Urbana, IL 
Apr 8 2004 Rating: 4/5 Stars
V/A -Pop Punk Loves You CD
Click for more info

V/A
Pop Punk Loves You CD

Okay, so I'm a sucker for pop-punk, I gave in and bought it, and this is one of my more favorite compilations. If you're thinking "Should I buy this?" you might as well. If you like some of the bands you see listed. Most of the other bands fall into similiar musical styles as the ones you may know. I didn't know that people would consider Rise Against and Strung Out pop-punk bands, but I don't really care what people label bands, just as long as the music is good.

This comp is fun. The comp kicks off w/ three really upbeat songs from Rufio, the Lawrence Arms, and the Travoltas. And other bands like Midtown and Rise Against play some good tracks. Sure there maybe be a few tracks I want to skip over. But over all this a good, fun, and harmless pop-punk compilation. If you are interested in this, check out "What's Across the Pond" as well. Very similar style to this comp.

Philip from Urbana, IL 
Jan 19 2004 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Mayfield -Mayfield CD
Click for more info

Mayfield
Mayfield CD

I've seen that this band gets shows in Chicago with 504 Plan, Fall Out Boy, and Starstruck. So i wanted to hear them and what I heard was a let down. Their songs all mesh together, because they sound too much alike and after the 3rd song the CD gets boring. The vocalist doesnt' seem to have any energy when he sings. He cares about his lyrics, but I just don't like his singing style. If you're a big Simple Plan fan, you might dig these guys. Maybe some of this bands newer material sounds better and has more energy. I could see these guys growing into a really good band. But I just didnt' enjoy this EP.

Philip from Urbana, IL 
Jan 13 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
V/A -Steady Sounds From The Underground CD
Click for more info

V/A
Steady Sounds From The Underground CD

I can go through music phases, and when I'm in a ska phase this is one of the CD's I have to listen to. It contains a lot of good ska bands and most of the songs are pretty good. It's a good ska CD. If you like a handful of these bands, then you'll enjoy the whole CD. It's a comp I can listen to all the way through and not get bored. So hooray for ska, hooray for the bands, and hooray for the people who buy this CD.

Philip from Urbana, IL 
Jan 13 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
V/A -What's Across The Pond? Vol.1 CD
Click for more info

V/A
What's Across The Pond? Vol.1 CD

If you regonize at least 3 bands on this compilation, then you'll enjoy the whole thing. All the bands have similar styles, power-punk I guess I'd say. It's one of the rare comps that I can enjoy from a beginning to end. It contains some songs I already know, and then I hear new songs and I enjoy some of those too. This is a good comp. It contains some bands you may know and love, and then some bands you'll grow to enjoy. So check this out. It's one of the best comps I own. (How did this small label get all these bands on one compilation? I dont' know, but more power to them)

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 27 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review








© 1997-2020 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.