THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 66,807 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
22ND ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 14 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Christian from New York, NY 
Feb 7 2006 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Jet By Day -Vulture CD
Click for more info

Jet By Day
Vulture CD

The rock goes from heavy and sludgy to uptempto 90's rock here. There's great guitar tone here, and some interesting songs.

Christian from New York, NY 
Jan 10 2006 Rating: 2/5 Stars
V/A -Myspace Records Vol. 1 CD
Click for more info

V/A
Myspace Records Vol. 1 CD

There are a couple of good songs on here, and a few more are good for background music for a party. I like myspace, so I won't go into how bad some of these songs are. If you buy the disc, you get 4 extra pictures on myspace, and a highly average disc which you can give away to your teenage niece or sister.

Christian from New York, NY 
Jan 10 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Slowride -Building A Building CD
Click for more info

Slowride
Building A Building CD

This disc is pretty damn good. It might be emo, or cynical, or whatever. Screw the genres, just listen to a rock band for dog's sake. I do know that it has tough riffs, good recording, and a tangible narrative. This disc isn't going to blow your mind, nor is it the absolute most original thing in the world (but that's OK in this instance), but you will have it blasting in your car way longer than you thought. Big rocks, good lyrics, and overall cool thing. Buy it.

Christian from New York, NY 
Jan 10 2006 Rating: 1/5 Stars
Wolf Parade -Apologies To The Queen Mary CD
Click for more info

Wolf Parade
Apologies To The Queen Mary CD

This album got so much good press that I had to check it out. Pitchfork put it in its top 10 of the 2005. In retrospect, their review is the dumbest thing I've read in a long time, proving that Pitchfork will drop its integrity at any time for Sub Pop. "Apologies to the Queen Mary" is basically a Modest Mouse album. It sounds exactly like Modest Mouse, was recorded by Modest Mouse's singer, and comes from the same hometown. Its apparently supposed to be a Modest Mouse ripoff. Since when is it OK to sound exactly like another band, on purpose? I could go on and on about the total lack of originality, but that would overshadow how utterly crappy the CD really is. It will insult your intelligence and leave you wondering, if this isn't as good as Modest Mouse, why do people think it is so great? Its all about being trendy. Wolf Parade has put out a trendy record for trendy kids who don't have a lick of musical taste of their own. What a retread, piece of garbage, already-been-done-a-hundred-times album. You'll find better music in a car commercial. Spend your money on something different folks...in my humble, feeling ripped-off, opinion.

Christian from New York, NY 
Jan 5 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Calexico/Iron And Wine -In The Reins Split CD
Click for more info

Calexico/Iron And Wine
In The Reins Split CD

In my opinion, listening to Iron & Wine is a hit and miss procedure. Fortunately, this EP is a good album. It starts off with the gramatically incorrect "He Lays In The Reins", and its OK, it builds. "Prison on Route 41" shows us the brilliance and beauty of Iron & Wine. "History of Lovers" is fun and somehow deep. The fourth song "Red Dust" wasn't good in its earlier version, and I suspect it is a puzzle piece I haven't figured out. Then there is a pretty good song "Burn That Broken Bed". The EP ends with the reason I bought the thing in the first place: an updated version of "Dead Man's Will". The re-do is great.

What about Calexico? I didn't think Iron & Wine would be able to mix with a band. I don't particularly like the Iron&Wine albums with too much instrumentation. But Calexico pulls it off, somehow wailing away at the drums but somehow it sounds soothing. So, this isn't Beam's best work, nor his most original. But it is really damn good.

Christian from New York, NY 
Nov 22 2005 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Alkaline Trio -Halloween At The Metro Chicago - The Show Must Go Off! DVD
Click for more info

Alkaline Trio
Halloween At The Metro Chicago - The Show Must Go Off! DVD

This is a good video. Whether you are an Alkaline Trio fan or not (I am), this DVD is worth the $15. The sound is pretty good, the songs are well selected, and the scene is macabre. I would have asked for one or two more tracks off of "From Here To Infirmary", but the songs from the Alkaline Trio CD were great. I have a new found respect for Dan Andriano, I had no idea he could play like that. I say get the DVD and decide for yourself. Now that I am on record saying that this DVD is worth $15, I should be clear: the photo gallery and other DVD "extras" don't add much. This DVD is a bad ass show, and that's why its worth the price, so don't expect the extras to be worth much.

Christian from New York, NY 
Nov 14 2005 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Dwarves -Blood Guts & Pussy CD
Click for more info

Dwarves
Blood Guts & Pussy CD

This is classic, raw, in your face punk rock with good melodies. Recorded by Jack Endino of Nirvana "Bleach" fame, this album sounds dirty and evil. The album is worth the cost if only for the cover. If you want something that will piss off your parents and get you grounded for the rest of your teen years, or if you are an old guy like me who still likes the rock music, buy this album and accidentally leave it lying around when parents or visitors come around.

Christian from New York, NY 
Nov 4 2005 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Gogol Bordello -East Infection CD
Click for more info

Gogol Bordello
East Infection CD

Though I liked the first Gogol Bordello album slighly more, East Infection gives more of the same kinetic craziness of the earlier release. This album is high brow, low brow, even, dare I say, jazz brow. This is not pop punk, this is thinking folk stuff. And it works well. This is the kind of album that requires one to listen to the whole thing in order to appreciate it. I suspect that turns off some of the kiddies. However, if you've already seen a thousand pop punk bands that all sound the same, this album is a decent one to take a chance on. Did I mention that this album is funny as hell?

Christian from New York, NY 
Aug 16 2005 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Gogol Bordello -Multi Kontra Culti CD
Click for more info

Gogol Bordello
Multi Kontra Culti CD

I'm am really happy I got this disc. While this disc isn't basic straight ahead punk, it's got more attitude and evil than lots of punk bands. Throw in an eastern european accent, funny as hell lyrics, and you got yourself a party. Sure, the party might be all by yourself, but Gogol Bordello is just that funny. I recommend at least one Gogol Bordello disc for every collection.

Christian from New York, NY 
Aug 16 2005 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Horace Pinker -Copper Regret CD
Click for more info

Horace Pinker
Copper Regret CD

I bought this CD on a whim. I remember hearing Horace Pinker on the Attaining the Supreme compilation, and bought this one blind. It's OK, good production, good songs, and good cohesion.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 14 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2019 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.