THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 66,636 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
20TH ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 14 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Nicholas from Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Jan 2 2007 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Stiff Little Fingers -Handheld And Rigidly Digital DVD
Click for more info

Stiff Little Fingers
Handheld And Rigidly Digital DVD

This dvd is definitely worth buying. The setlist is a nice mix up of old and newer SLF, so it's a good starting point if you're wanting to get into this band. The camera work is really good. Several angles keep up the pace with the incredible songs. The qualiy of picture is fantastic. The sound is really really good. Leveling of all instruments is impressive, as often times when I watch concert DVDs you can't hear something, but here everything is well balanced and mixed. The performances themselves are really good. SLF here is very tight and play with a lot of passion. The performances here aren't as raw as their older ones and Jake's vocals run the same route, but heart reigns in each song regardless. No performance here is short of solid and inspiring.

The only extra feature is the interview with Jake Burns, and it's pretty interesting. The questions asked could've been a little more interesting, but Jake tells great stories and spans the start of the band, among other things nicely.

I didn't give this 5 stars because it's not fantastic, but it comes close. There's nothing really jaw-dropping in the DVD, but there isn't a bad spot to be found either. Maybe had the interview been slightly more interesting or had there been just one more cool bonus feature, I would've given it 5 stars.

Bottom line: this is a really good DVD that you should get if you like rock 'n' roll, punk, just specifically SLF, or if you're looking to get into them.

Nicholas from Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Feb 7 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Shai Hulud -A Profound Hatred Of Man CD
Click for more info

Shai Hulud
A Profound Hatred Of Man CD

...even more raw and blistering than the follow-up LP "Hearts Once Nourished With Hope and Compassion". I first heard the stunning LP and thought they couldn't top that. I'd heard this "Profound Hatred of Man" EP was really good, but man, it's fucking brutal. The number one thing I must address is the fact of there only being 3 medium-length tracks; don't let that repell you from getting this EP. I don't kid when I say this, each of the 3 tracks are 111% SOLID FULL AMAZING HARDCORE songs. There's nothing fake with this Shai Hulud release. It's all brutal, it's all real art, no bullshit hxc pride with songs about ridiculously macho grotesque topics (you know what I'm talking about, don't deny it. I like hardcore but sometimes it gets a bit cheesy with some bands). Shai Hulud doesn't try to do sound like anything on "A Profound Hatred of Man" EP. It's brilliantly simple, but they put everything into everything with this outing. As horribly cliche as this is: you will not be disapointed if you get this.

I rarely hear hardcore this good. This EP has value to the world. It's raw eye-splitting hardcore with light at the end of the tunnel no matter how dark the subject matter might be in any given song. It's progressive and positive but the opposite of happy hardcore, at the same time.

"A Profound Hatred of Man" is three songs of pure emotion.

The artwork is cool too, coming with lyrics.

Nicholas from Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Feb 3 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
No Trigger -Extinction In Stereo CD
Click for more info

No Trigger
Extinction In Stereo CD

No Trigger; Extinction In Stereo = great music. No more, no less. They have their own sound, their own energy, their own way of writing songs. A totally fresh raw punkcore record that shoots through topics such as environmentalism, a very strong stance on gays (marrying (pro-gay)), alienated youth, and rising above the shit that tears us all down. They're revolutionaries just with their passion alone, not to mention their ideas are written in a way that is really mature, yet not holding anything back. Not to say that extensive swearing is bad, but No Trigger's lyrics are very cohesive and powerful without frantic cussing, which earns respect from me. They don't think lightly of the government and state of the world however, so don't take these guys for softies. They've got a lot to say and they say it very well.

As far as what they sound like, you may have heard the Strike Anywhere comparison. I'll stand behind that. No Trigger is a bit more melodic than Strike and not as heavy overall, but when NT goes all out they're more thrashy than Strike. They both have the same sort of style though. The political punkcore sound (harder than punk but NOT QUITE hardcore).

This record is only 7 songs, but it seems like a good length for a punk record - clocking in at around 23 minutes, I believe.

If you're looking for something inspirational, this record will do you right. If you're looking for something fresh with something to say, this will do you right. No Trigger is my idea of proper progressive punk. They're really trying. They're smart, energetic, hardcore with their visions, and seemingly very comfortable with their sound. The music flows well and sounds great. Extinction In Stereo is hands-down the best punk record I've heard in a while.

Nicholas from Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Dec 23 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
No Use For A Name -More Betterness CD
Click for more info

No Use For A Name
More Betterness CD

Easily one of the best pop punk records ever written. Where I live, no one liked this record. They said it was too whimpy, too melodic, not No Use anymore. I beg to differ on their behalf, as this is DEFINATELY No Use playing every note throughout More Betterness!. The guitars are a bit happier than they've ever been and Tony got better at singing, but if you for one second think to yourself "No Use totally sold out! I'm not buying this cd!", question yourself. Nothing on this record is glossy, overproduced with special effects, none of that major label MTV crap that's used to market and sell records. Maybe Tony got a little less depressed on this record, maybe No Use as a whole got happier...or maybe they didn't. I don't think so. Half of this record is the darker yet still catchy Making Friends and Leche con Carne sound, but the other half is pop punk like I've never heard before. It's as good as Descendents pop punk. It's real. The melodies are amazing. Usually melodic punk bores me, as I don't really hear much effort in the singer's voice, but Tony's passion is obvious when you hear the tunes he sings on the opener "Not Your Savior", the following track "Life Size Mirror", "Always Carrie", and virtually every other track. The singing on this record actually gives me the shivers at some parts. It's really that good.

Some people think this album is not as political/opinionated as NUFAN's older stuff, but I again beg to differ. Yes, it's not outrightly as political/opinionated, but more tongue-in-cheekly written (I probably didn't use that saying right...). Everything from religion (Chasing Rainbows), relationships (Lies Can't Pretend), society (Saddest Song), it's all here.

The only song I didn't like was the acoustic mid-album track "Let It Slide". It's not horrible, but it's far from great. The lyrics are weak and the song just has no body to it.

I find this to be No Use's finest work to date. A stunning pop punk record written through the eyes of a child (hence the title, that's something a child would say). The lyric "we'll never see the child that was forced to be a man" (off "Why Doesn't Anybody Like Me?"), sums up More Betterness!, on that point. On every other No Use release, there's been a hint of child-like playfulness in Tony's lyrics, but no one could quite figure out what it was. The childhood he never really had comes out in full bloom here, and it's something truly great to hear in the 14 fast-paced melodic punk songs that make up this unforgettable More Betterness! album. At first glance it may seem like this is nothing more than a whimpy emotional punk effort from the boys No Use, but I assure you there's years of inspiration lying beneath the melody. This is real music.

Nicholas from Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Dec 23 2004 Rating: 4/5 Stars
No Use For A Name -Leche Con Carne CD
Click for more info

No Use For A Name
Leche Con Carne CD

No Use won't get any points for originality here, but that takes absolutely nothing away from the sincerity, passion, and urgency in every single song on this album. The sound is typical galloping Fat beats over a couple of moderately distorted Les Pauls with Reverb set to level 0 and melodic vocals with matching back-up vox up a couple steps. Originality is important but isn't always everything. Any person with a mind (and an open one at that) can relate to this record. The energy and heart cannot be ignored. It's truly inspiring stuff. Tony Sly writes about nothing really groundbreaking on this record, as in every other NUFAN record before this, but he's found new ways of saying what's on his mind, what he wants to fight for. Everything is solid on Leche con Carne.

Nicholas from Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Dec 14 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Against Me! -Reinventing Axl Rose (old) CD
Click for more info

Against Me!
Reinventing Axl Rose (old) CD

Against Me! is Reinventing Axl Rose with original folk-punk that politically challenges any subject the world will throw at them. From the big picture of the state of the world to local specific events, Against Me! breaks down the status-quo of not only punk rock but of rock music itself. Reinventing, redefining, redoing everything else that's been done before in terms of the standards and expectations that anyone had for what progressive important relevant music and energy has ever been. I'm not saying Against Me! are gods and should be worshipped, but I do think they really are reinventing Axl Rose on this record, doing their own thing their own way, with not a bit of pretentious b.s. in sight.

The energy and passion on this record is nearly unmatched. The sound of the slightest bit of hope that we've something left to fight for, that is the sound throughout Reinventing Axl Rose. If anyone ever wanted to know what the punk scene REALLY is about, read the lyrics that come with the record and they will give you a good idea [at least to them and a similar opinion shared by myself].

Highlights: intro song, one of the most moving songs about personal tragedy/love I've heard. Closing song, amazing. The last line, "and if the young hearts should explode from all the lies they've been told; to live through one night like this, I would trade it for the silence." That sums it all up right there. This one is for the kids.

Nicholas from Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Dec 13 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Stiff Little Fingers -Inflammable Material CD
Click for more info

Stiff Little Fingers
Inflammable Material CD

Heart, energy, attitude, and that old '77 punk sound that we all know and love. This is one of the most inspirational punk albums I've heard to date. The guitar riffs are ear-splitting, the bass jumps the beats up energetically, the drumming is up-tempo British punk style, and the vocals are amazing. Jake Burns' voice is obviously young on this record, and the youthful anger and passion is blatant as day. SLF is pissed off on Inflammable Material, and cuts through every song like it was their last day on earth. The urgency is there throughout the entire album. There's even a reggae song in their cover of "Johnny Was", and a fantastic closing song with clever insightful lyrics about hypocrisy.

Inflammable Material is political and could very easily offend you....just the way it was back in the day. The sound is extremely brash, so if you want a polished punk sound this record is not what you're looking for.

"Barbed Wire Love" and "Alternative Ulster" are two of the best songs I've ever heard by anyone. And "Wasted Life" slices my heart to pieces with the anger present in every note. Truly great material.

Reminiscent of The Clash's first record.

Nicholas from Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Dec 13 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Fugazi -Repeater + 3 Songs CD
Click for more info

Fugazi
Repeater + 3 Songs CD

If you're in search of real music, this album will do you right. Simply put, "Repeater + 3 Songs" IS music. There's nothing fake about it. Try to find something artificial on the album and you will fail. The music is catchy, has good punch, simple to listen to, filled with ease and meaning; refreshing indie rock.

If you wanna talk about the real meaning of indie is that the word comes from 'independent'. People talk about indie bands but they really don't know a thing...Fugazi really is independent. Not to mention this album was released...oh about 11 years before the whole crop of "indie bands" we know today became popular.

Fugazi and "Repeater + 3 Songs" is the real deal.

Nicholas from Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Dec 13 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Propagandhi -How To Clean Everything CD
Click for more info

Propagandhi
How To Clean Everything CD

Melodic, pissed off, one-of-a-kind sound (while on Fat Wreck to boot!).

The politics of ideally-charged punk rock wears a bit thin and overplayed nowadays...hell...it was back in '93 when this album came out! The ideas of the boys Propagandhi are well-thought, easy to understand, and most of all put forth in a way that no other punk band has done before. Anarcho-punk that is interesting. Now, I love Crass, but I'll even admit that sometimes their stuff gets a little boring in comparison to this Propagandhi.

How To Clean Everything has a very nice mix of hardcore, dare I say pop-punk (proper pop-punk though), a little bit of ska ("Ska Sucks"), with a bit of humour, satire, really pissed off politics, opinions around every corner, yet often playful lyrics, guitar riffs that will catch you on first listen, and a major middle finger along with the whole package.

The only typical thing on this record is the harmonies. They're pretty standard Fat Wreck harmonies, but they're well-placed. Not too much, not too little. This is a very important punk album that you should not miss out on. Propagandhi is one of the best of today's punk rock that's left. This is early material, but it's just as good as anything they've put out.

Nicholas from Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Dec 13 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Shai Hulud -Hearts Once Nourished With Hope And Compassion CD
Click for more info

Shai Hulud
Hearts Once Nourished With Hope And Compassion CD

Very rarely does hardcore put a feeling in me. Usually I'm somewhat disgusted at the superficiality in the music - fake screams, fake lyrics, guitar riffs to impress and not from the heart; Hearts Once Nourished With Hope and Compassion haunts me everytime I listen to it. I'm not saying challenging difficult music is always pretentious, nor really poetic lyrics are always full of shit, but it's no secret that hardcore has turned into a fad as the post-emo sound of the "scene". If you listen to what Chad is screaming on this record, however, you'll immediately understand why this record is amazing and why many other of it's contemporaries are full of shit. Hearts Once Nourished's lyrics mean something. They're opinionated, smart, full of passion. If you're screaming about how you want someone back because they broke your heart...I call that a more macho form of emo, bitching, non-productive, irresponsible gibberish.

Hardcore is a punk rock thing, and punk rock has always been about force for change. Actually trying to make a difference in this world. Listen to this record and tell me Shai Hulud isn't trying to change things, through their frusteration with the ill will of man. You can like whatever you want to, but like and respect are two different things; I respect this record as much as I enjoy listening to it. If you want real hardcore, with no bitching, and is actually cohesive and mature, get this. It's one of the best hardcore albums I've heard to date. A real inspiring work of art.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 14 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2019 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.