THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 46,495 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
Our 23RD ANNIVERSARY!!

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
See What Just Sold






  Special Vinyl
  T-Shirt Finder
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 15 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
James from Stevensville, MI 
Jul 21 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Inside Out -No Spiritual Surrender CD
Click for more info

Inside Out
No Spiritual Surrender CD

There isn't exactly much to say about this record, since this band was very short lived and is somewhat forgotten (at least in my eyes), and I'm sure most people who buy it are mainly interested (like I was) in hearing Zach de la Rocha's hardcore roots. Musically, it's rather standard fare for late 80's - early 90's hardcore: some fast punk, some mid-paced Black Flag-esque hardcore, and scattered metal elements, such as pick harmonics and whatnot. Not earth-shattering, but fun and satisfying. Lyrically, however, this band shines. Yes, they use tired phrases such as "Burning Fight," but many of the words touch on very humanist and quite frankly beautiful themes, which as we all know carried over into the great Rage Against The Machine. So, all in all, this a worthy listen by a worthy band that while not exactly famous for their contributions deserve a place in hardcore's history.

James from Stevensville, MI 
Jul 21 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Some Girls -DNA Will Have Its Say CD
Click for more info

Some Girls
DNA Will Have Its Say CD

Some Girls are, in my opinion, one of the more exciting and refreshing bands in the hardcore scene. This comes as no surprise, however, as Wes from American Nightmare and Justin from The Locust are members, two of my favorite people from two of my favorite bands. What draws me to the band is their punk rock aesthetic; the songs are fast, short, and crazy as anything--the record almost has a powerviolence feel to it, and that's awesome, considering that sect of hardcore has all but died (as far as I can tell). I should say, however, that this is not your average three chord hardcore band; these guys are very, very intelligent, and (akin to bands such as Sex Positions) on this 6 minute EP there exists an air of artistic transcendence and form-fuck of the typical hardcore song. Lyrically, things remain pretty abstract, with no real theme existing (besides mysogony and over-the-top sex and drug musings), but that's fine--in fact, I love lyrics written in that style...sure beats "I've got your back, bro!" I'm not exactly sure how much time is spent on this band by its members, but I'd really like to see them become less a side project and creative outlet and more an LP-releasing and full-time touring band, because I am ALL about this shit. If you are into fast, crazy, and loud hardcore played with bravado and an artistic edge, check out this band. You will not be dissapointed.

James from Stevensville, MI 
Jul 1 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Horse The Band -R. Borlax CD
Click for more info

Horse The Band
R. Borlax CD

Bands like Horse The Band are what make hardcore a worthwhile scene in which to participate. No one questions the heart and sincerity of Bane, Champion, or Death Threat, but the creativity and take-some-chances spirit of Horse and their odd contemporaries are what keep this genre from getting stale. On "R. Borlax," they do something that, aside from possibly The Locust, no other marquee hardcore band does: they write songs around the musical concept of keyboards. It seems as though, on the majority of the songs, the other musicians listened to what the keyboardist had come up with and riffed around it; to me, that's pretty fucking cool. Sure, this record is not perfect; the mix is a little muddy, the drums are a tad sloppy, and some of the arrangements are a bit awkward. But you know what? This makes no difference, and here's why: Horse The Band takes more creative chances and attempts to do more in 34 minutes than most hardcore bands will ever attempt in their entire catalogue. That merits a 5 in my book.

James from Stevensville, MI 
Feb 23 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Bad Religion -Against Grain CD
Click for more info

Bad Religion
Against Grain CD

Suffer, No Control, and Against The Grain are what I consider the greatest of Bad Religion's recordings. I can't find anything wrong with this CD. It's a classic. Every song rocks out, EVERY song. Like the other two records mentioned above, this record just flows...you never want to skip a track. Buy this, NOW.

James from Stevensville, MI 
Feb 23 2005 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Casualties -Underground Army CD
Click for more info

Casualties
Underground Army CD

I'm not a street-punk afficianado, but I like this CD. They play VERY tight and each song is pretty much a punk monster. However, these dudes bring the absolute SHITTIEST kids to shows and festivals and tend to sell the IMAGE of punk, rather than the spirit (perhaps that spirit is dead in this street punk revival thing...I don't know). I don't think that's what they were trying to do, though, so I'll let that slide. Good record, that's really all that counts here. I'd recommend.

James from Stevensville, MI 
Feb 23 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Darkest Hour -Prophecy Fulfilled CD
Click for more info

Darkest Hour
Prophecy Fulfilled CD

Rather rudimentary Darkest Hour...however, this is not a negative thing, seeing as this was made about 8 years ago. I can definitely see myself listening to this more and more, I pretty much like it better every time I hear it. I wouldn't start with this, though...I started with the latest, "Hidden Hands Of A Sadist Nation" and bought this on a whim. Work your way backwards, this is that kind of band. Cheers.

James from Stevensville, MI 
Sep 30 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Converge -You Fail Me CD
Click for more info

Converge
You Fail Me CD

I don't know why anyone has reviewed this yet. I guess I'm first.

Converge is one of the most talented and prolific bands to ever impact the hardcore world, and this album is just another milestone in their musical journey. Prepare to be amazed, the wait was well worth it.

James from Stevensville, MI 
Sep 13 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
As The Sun Sets -Each Individual Voice (Re-issue) CD
Click for more info

As The Sun Sets
Each Individual Voice (Re-issue) CD

i love this cd. essentially more death-influenced daughters with longer songs and actual chugging riffs. very loud and crazy with a real "artsy" feel to it. i'd highly recommend it, these d00ds are hell talented. see also: daughters:canada songs

James from Stevensville, MI 
Aug 13 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Converge -Long Road Home DVD
Click for more info

Converge
Long Road Home DVD

i don't have much to say. converge is one of the best bands to ever grace the music world. this dvd reflects that. buy it.

James from Stevensville, MI 
Aug 13 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Red Chord -Fused Together In Revolving Doors CD
Click for more info

Red Chord
Fused Together In Revolving Doors CD

Let me just start off by saying that I don't agree with the people who say that Between the Buried and Me rips off these guys. Aside from grind beats and breakdowns and the low voice, they are two completely different bands. That said, this record is amazing from start to finish. I was only familiar with "Dreaming in Dog Years" when I bought it; I bought it on a whim. I do that often, and sometimes it turns out to be a failure, other times it turns out great. This is one of the times it turns out great. Intense, fast, heavy (the breakdowns are thankfully spaced out within the songs....making them much more effective) and just simply breathtaking. I used to be not too into metal-influenced music; I thought it was cheesy. Now I know that when it's done right, metal/grind can be some truly awesome music. The Red Chord have done it right. Buy this.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 15 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review










© 1997-2022 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.