THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 54,726 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
23RD ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 81 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Brad from Tucson, AZ 
Mar 17 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Zs -Karate Bump CD
Click for more info

Zs
Karate Bump CD

"Zs." The music is about and unconventional as the name. What many people would call "free jazz," Zs consists of two drummers, two guitarists, and two saxophone players, all of whom are ridiculously learned in the field of music theory. And what do they produce? Mind boggling bursts of music with no apparent structure, rhythm, or melody, yet an overwhelming sense of unity and tightness between all of the disjointed components. And why should you listen to this? It will wrap circles around your brain and keep you coming back and listening to it repeatedly, still unsure of what's actually going on.

For anyone interested in hearing something new and unlike most anything they've heard before, Zs are a must. Honestly, I'd recommend their first (self-titled) CD over this one, but it's still a good listen. Also, watch for their new album; it's supposed to drop soon and it will probably rule.

Brad from Tucson, AZ 
Mar 17 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Neutral Milk Hotel -In The Aeroplane Over The Sea LP
Click for more info

Neutral Milk Hotel
In The Aeroplane Over The Sea LP

Punk? Not so much. Call it indie, call it neo-folk, call it what you may - In the Aeroplane Over the Sea is, without a doubt, one of the finest albums I own. Jeff Magnum is a master songwriter, and despite the incoherence of the lyrics and the occasional chaos of the instrumentation, this album is, through and through, beautiful. There's simply no better word to describe it. From start to finish, you'll hear electric and acoustic guitars, bagpipes, horns, fuzzed out samples, everything you can think of converging into a series of songs that run together smoothly to make a nice unified album.

If you're reading this, my guess is you already know all about Neutral Milk Hotel. But in the case that you don't, pick this up for sure and get acquainted with some of the most awesome music you'll ever hear.

Brad from Tucson, AZ 
Aug 9 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Mihai Edrisch -L'un Sans L'autre CD
Click for more info

Mihai Edrisch
L'un Sans L'autre CD

Great french emo. The two comparisons made by the reviewer below me are dead on: this is kind of like a cross between Envy and Amanda Woodward. Good music and cool packaging, though it comes with no lyrics. Pick it up.

Brad from Tucson, AZ 
Aug 9 2005 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Fingers Cut Megamachine -Color Tub CD
Click for more info

Fingers Cut Megamachine
Color Tub CD

This, as you probably know, is the solo project of the singer from Osker. If you took the transformation and maturing that took Osker from Treatment 5 to Idle Will Kill, and applied it to Idle Will Kill, you might come up with something sounding much like this album: mature, generally solo, singer/songwriter type stuff, but still with a sort of punk vibe to it, probably from Devon's voice. It is, I will admit, a pretty lo-fi recording, but the songs are all very good, though perhaps slihgtly underdeveloped. I wish it came with lyrics, too. I look forward to hearing the new Fingers Cut, Megamachine full length that's out now. Pick this up if you're a die hard fan of Devon's work or if you're into good singer/songwriter stuff.

Brad from Tucson, AZ 
Aug 9 2005 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Mara'akate -3-7-77 7

Mara'akate
3-7-77 7"

This is a good record. Basically, it's just what the reviewers below me and the description say it is: a bunch of fast, chaotic grindy hardcore songs with lo-fi production thrown on a slab of vinyl. Reminds me of Usurp Synapse or My Lai at points. My only complaint, like the reviewer below me, is that it's a bit too short. Oh well, good stuff nonetheless.

Brad from Tucson, AZ 
Aug 9 2005 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Isis -Mosquito Control LP
Click for more info

Isis
Mosquito Control LP

This album is albsolutely crushing. The first few notes, a pretty instrumental, mislead you into thinking that Isis may be some sort of a post-rock outfit, but they aren't. Not on this record at least. "Mosquito Control" is the heaviest and most doomy, sludgy, and metally of all of Isis' albums I'd say. It is, in turn, very awesome. Cunky sounding guitars play through a bunch of slow riffery and crushing bass and drums play on over it, creating hypnotically heavy awesomeness. The vocals on this are pretty powerful too, and the lyrics form a concept album of sorts.

As much as I love this album, I have to give it only four stars to put emphasis on the fact that "Oceanic," "Celestial," and "Panopticon" are all even better than it.

Brad from Tucson, AZ 
Aug 9 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Black Dice -Beaches And Canyons LP
Click for more info

Black Dice
Beaches And Canyons LP

This is a top notch album. Very odd and experimental, not your typical "abient" or "harsh" noise. But it is definitely a noise record. The first song, Seabird, has a collection of weird noises that sound like ratchets or like frogs chirping piled over layers of electronic bleeps and bloops to create an interesting soundscape. The second song is another mostly electronic one with a bit of feedback and clips of what sound like a baby crying. The third song, "The Dream is Going Down" contains one of hte most awesome parts of the album. Towards the middle of it, everything stops and out bursts a tribal kind of beat. The vocalist makes his first major appearance here, singing another tribal sounding type thing over it. This hypnotic rhythm envelops you for a few more minutes and the track is over. In the final song, the vocalist makes another appearance, screaming and yelping over feedback and distored guitars.

The Bottom line: this is a truly awesome album with a lot of variety and experimentation going on in the songs. It also comes on nice HEAVY vinyl if you get the 2xLP. Pick it up if you're looking for something interesting and weird.

Brad from Tucson, AZ 
Aug 9 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
La Mantra De Fhiqira/Seyarse -A Single Sided - Split LP
Click for more info

La Mantra De Fhiqira/Seyarse
A Single Sided - Split LP

This split is the team up of two awesome bands from Chicago. Both bands are very fast and chaotic and destructive, but in a different way. La Mantra de Fhiqria are less straightforward hardcore with winding guitars and off tone vocals punctuacted with blasting drums and shrill screams. Seyarse pummel you with three spastic songs of grindy chaos-core: fast, in your face guitars and drums while the singer shreads his vocal chords. Overall, this is an awesome record with two awesome bands; I'd reccommend picking it up as well as Seyarse's s/t 7" and La Mantra's split with the Bleeding Kansas.

Brad from Tucson, AZ 
Aug 9 2005 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Set Fire To Flames -Telegraphs In Negative/Mouths Trapped In Static LP
Click for more info

Set Fire To Flames
Telegraphs In Negative/Mouths Trapped In Static LP

I have to say, I'm not 100% sure how I feel about this album. It often seems boring when I listen to it, yet I keep coming back and listening to it again. I was expecting it to be more musically oriented than it is, it's more of a collection of ambient noise and samples with occasional instrumentation. Good background music, or good to listen to just laying down in the dark; not good to listen to when you want something really interesting. Set Fire to Flames is not another Godspeed You Black Emperor or A Silver Mt. Zion if that's what you're looking for.

Also, the gatefold and the nice little picture booklet that the 2xLP comes with are pretty cool looking and interesting. Nice, heavy, good sounding vinyl as well. I'd be interested in hearing their previous full length. Get it if you're looking to try something new.

Brad from Tucson, AZ 
Aug 9 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Welcome The Plague Year -Welcome The Plague Year CD
Click for more info

Welcome The Plague Year
Welcome The Plague Year CD

This album is phenomenal. One of the best of 2004 for sure. Pretty instrumentals connect crushingly epic blasts of thundering drums and sawing guitars overlayed by dual (female and male) scathing screams. Breathtakingly heavy at points but melodic all the while, just the way it should be. For fans of any sort of hardcore, screamo, or emo - pick it up.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 81 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review








© 1997-2020 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.