THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 45,853 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
Our 23RD ANNIVERSARY!!

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
See What Just Sold






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 20 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Matthew from Montreal, PQ Canada 
Oct 24 2006 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Lifetime -Somewhere In The Swamps Of New Jersey (Double Disc) CD
Click for more info

Lifetime
Somewhere In The Swamps Of New Jersey (Double Disc) CD

You could do worse things with your money but this really isn't an essential purchase for anybody, including most Lifetime fans.

Matthew from Montreal, PQ Canada 
Oct 20 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Converge -No Heroes CD
Click for more info

Converge
No Heroes CD

Holy fucking wow. With No Heroes, Converge undisputedly remain the most relevant and interesting band in heavy music today. This album does what I believed to be impossible, matching (maybe even surpassing) Jane Doe. Somehow managing to make an album that is faster, more brutal, more angry, yet more melodic and more sonically complex than anything they've released before, Converge have created music that will remain essential listening for years to come, a record that no fan of music can go without. No other release can even hope to challenge this as the best of 2006.

Matthew from Montreal, PQ Canada 
Feb 17 2005 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Isis -Panopticon CD
Click for more info

Isis
Panopticon CD

If you don't like this album, I don't want to know you. It's as simple as that. It takes everything that made previous Isis records great and builds on it to form the most haunting piece of music I've heard since the early days of Godspeed.

Get this immediately and thank yourself when it becomes your new favorite album.

Matthew from Montreal, PQ Canada 
Jul 29 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Weezer -Weezer (Deluxe Edition Remastered w/Bonus CD) CD
Click for more info

Weezer
Weezer (Deluxe Edition Remastered w/Bonus CD) CD

One of the best albums of the nineties gets the royal treatment, and the results are amazing. Sure, you could probably spend a third of the money to get the regular edition of this album if you don't have it already, but you'd be missing out on the awesomeness included in here. First off, the package itself is great, a snazzy double digipak enclosed in a transparent slipcase, a 30 page booklet with tons of great old photos, handwritten lyrics and extensive liner notes. While that alone should be enough to convince you, you also get a remaster of the album itself. While there is some debate as to whether the difference is audible (Ric Ocasec's production was already huge and great-sounding), audiophiles will appreciate the extra punch of the new master (most noticeable on the kick and snare sounds).

A good amount of the second disc should be familiar to longtime Weezer fans as a good number of the tracks have been available for years, but they receive the remastering treatment too and the results are beyond great. If you're only a casual Weezer fan, though, this disc will be a real treat as it includes some of the band's best tracks (Jamie, Suzanne, etc.) as well as some sweet live recordings.

All in all, this release is quality all the way, centered around one of the most influential, meaningful yet accessible records in a generation. If you've never heard the blue album, you should. If you already own the blue album, you should own this.

Reviews on this site often fall victim to the "every album is amazing! 5 stars!" syndrome, but know that it is not lightly that I would grant such a rating, saving it for truly important or exceptional records. This is such a record.

Matthew from Montreal, PQ Canada 
Apr 20 2004 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Further Seems Forever -How To Start A Fire CD
Click for more info

Further Seems Forever
How To Start A Fire CD

I can't believe this is the same band that made "The Moon Is Down". While that album was a true gem among the garbage that makes up the modern emo genre, "how to start a fire" completely loses the spark (no pun intended). The blame can't be laid on the change in vocalists, either. It's as if the rest of the band just got really lazy in their songwriting, going from the layered complexity of TMID to this predictable bore-fest.

So unless you find the new singer, like, OMG totally hott, take a pass on this one.

Matthew from Montreal, PQ Canada 
Jan 16 2004 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Darkest Hour -Hidden Hands Of A Sadist Nation CD
Click for more info

Darkest Hour
Hidden Hands Of A Sadist Nation CD

Fucking fast, blistering metal from Darkest Hour. Lots of sweet swedish metal riffs and some great lyrics make this a winner. I guess Victory still does put out a good album every now and then.

And the last track makes me wanna grow a mullet and listen to "Orion" off Master Of Puppets on repeat all over again, it's that great.

Matthew from Montreal, PQ Canada 
Jan 16 2004 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Matt Sharp -Puckett's Versus The Country Boy CD
Click for more info

Matt Sharp
Puckett's Versus The Country Boy CD

It's becoming clearer and clearer with each release that Matt Sharp was the real talent in Weezer. Both his Rentals albums blow the 2 new Weezer records completely out of the water, and this new EP is no exception to that rule.

On Puckett's, we hear Sharp go a little more mellow, and even a little more country. If you want to compare the sound to anything, I'd say listen to "My Head Is In The Sun" off the Rentals' album "Seven More Minutes", inject a little twang, and you're there.

Any fan of old Weezer, any of Sharp's other bands, or good acoustic rock in general would find plenty to enjoy in this EP.

Matthew from Montreal, PQ Canada 
Jan 16 2004 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Zombie Apocalypse -This Is A Spark Of Life CD
Click for more info

Zombie Apocalypse
This Is A Spark Of Life CD

Fast, hard, surprisingly melodic, and short. Oh yeah, add good to that mix too. There's Zombie Apocalypse.

So it'll come as no suprise that this sounds a lot like Shai Hulud playing really fast songs and singing about zombies. So if you like Shai Hulud, weird samples, or if you really dig zombies (and let's be honest now: who doesn't?), you should get this record. Then listen to it twice in a row, cause like I said it's pretty damn short.

Matthew from Montreal, PQ Canada 
Jan 13 2004 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Old Man Gloom -Christmas Eve I & II + 6 CD
Click for more info

Old Man Gloom
Christmas Eve I & II + 6 CD

A decent collection of OMG oddities, but nothing to get too excited over. The best part about this CD is how rare and weird looking it is ("Very", on both points). So if you're an OMG completist or a collector of rare and weird looking music, go for it. If not, just wait for the upcoming full length, or do yourself a favor and pick up Seminars II and III.

Matthew from Montreal, PQ Canada 
Jan 10 2004 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Special Goodness -Land Air Sea CD
Click for more info

Special Goodness
Land Air Sea CD

Damn, I just finally picked up this record a few weeks ago and now I find out it's being re-released by Epitaph in some re-mixed and improved version....damn!

Oh well, TSG is a great band and Pat Wilson deserves the double-dip I'm about to do. This album sounds like what Weezer would be doing if they were still good. For that reason, I recommend you get it, in whatever version you choose. Of course, we all know you'll be a lot more punk rock if you buy this limited edition which is out of print already. So get to it!

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 20 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review








© 1997-2021 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.