THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 55,365 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
22ND ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 11 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Ray from Ypsilanti, MI 
Aug 21 2005 Rating: 1/5 Stars
Fall Of Troy -Doppelganger CD
Click for more info

Fall Of Troy
Doppelganger CD

Let me be the first to call "bullshit" on this album.

First, though, I need to say that the Fall of Troy's self-titled full length and subsequent Ghostship demo were absolutely AMAZING. I was telling more people about the Fall of Troy than any other band, even though I usually like to "keep bands to myself" - you know, the whole 'it's better if no one else likes it' frame of mind. Well, with this band I didn't care. I started calling Thomas Erak "Our generation's Guitar Hero", and used him in an abstract painting for a class. On the Ghostship demo songs, Erak's guitar work is incredible. I was so psyched for this CD to come that I pre-ordered it, and even got a voucher for that free t-shirt...

Then I got the CD.

I can use lots of adjectives to describe this album, and none of them are complimentary. Over-produced, predictable, pseudo-experimental, boring, unemotional, feeble... the list goes on and on. I'm not going to say that no one should like this album, I'm just saying that they do NOT sound like they used to. In my opinion, I think Equal Vision is to blame. The songs that were re-done have lost ALL their energy and the new ones are flat-out uninspired. Listening to their other work would constantly make me take a step back and go "whoa, that guitar work is AWESOME", and I'd have the driving melodies stuck in my head for days...

This album is forgettable. The guitar work is either rushed, lazy, or trying too hard. The vocals... what the hell? The screams are less-punctual, and the singing has these bits of... I don't even know how to describe it... but you know when you hear it... and it's not a pleasure to listen to. The Fall of Troy really has lost their soul on this one. And, if anyone would like a Large t-shirt from the pre-release, keep looking on eBay, I'll have it up shortly after I get it.

R.I.P. Thomas Erak's career.

Ray from Ypsilanti, MI 
Jul 27 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Jazz June -Breakdance Suburbia CD
Click for more info

Jazz June
Breakdance Suburbia CD

Before I lose my chance to review this... let me say that this is definetly a great album. Nothing spectacular, but sometimes you don't want or need to be spectacular to be good. Andrew Low's vocals are really great, more "screaming" than the Jazz June's more recent works. This was them in their earlier, raw form, and it is worth whatever you have to pay to add this to your collection. I also suggedst checking out their album "The Medicine" which is my favorite album of all time.

Ray from Ypsilanti, MI 
Jul 27 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Rites Of Spring -End On End CD
Click for more info

Rites Of Spring
End On End CD

Wow.. lots of people are buying this CD, and with good reason. Absolutely brilliant music from all aspects. One of my favorite albums of all time. Every collection needs this.

Ray from Ypsilanti, MI 
May 2 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Misfits -Static Age CD
Click for more info

Misfits
Static Age CD

I just realized I only had 12 days left to review this so I thought I would...

What can I say? An awesome piece of late-70s music. Worth every penny. This is guaranteed to be one of your favorite all-time albums.

Ray from Ypsilanti, MI 
Sep 25 2003 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Against Me! -Reinventing Axl Rose (old) CD
Click for more info

Against Me!
Reinventing Axl Rose (old) CD

alright, I usually don't review CDs, but I have some things to say about this.

first off, if you decided to to download some MP3s off this album before buying, make sure you know which album they are from. I was taken by suprise to hear different (and unfortunately worse) versions of "Jordan's first choice", "those anarco punx are mysterious...", and "reinventing Axl Rose." - my favorite songs that I had heard. The versions from the acoustic CD are by far better.

But I don't want to sound like I don't absouletly love this band. The other songs alone would earn well more than 5 stars for this review.

Buy this CD, it will put your faith back in music.

Here's to hoping being on Fat Wreck won't ruin them.

Ray from Ypsilanti, MI 
Apr 26 2003 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Dead Kennedys -Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables CD
Click for more info

Dead Kennedys
Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables CD

what can I say? this is a just plain awesome CD This is the only DK cd I plan to buy, just because I am a big fan of Jello and am glad that this one didn't get turned over to Maifesto - although the CD does say "digitally remastered w/ East Bay Ray

either way, this CD is just frickin' awesome, everyone needs to hear this CD- then all the Hot Topic kids will think this sucks and realize they're not punk. Even if you've never even heard of DK, buy this, it's well worth the money

Ray from Ypsilanti, MI 
Feb 11 2003 Rating: 5/5 Stars
7-10 Split -Stars Have Fallen CD
Click for more info

7-10 Split
Stars Have Fallen CD

well, at the least- this is the kind of CD that makes you think before you write a review for it.

At first, it seemed a little boring, perhaps even repetitive, but it starts to grow on you. It shows that these guys have released records before this, but also that they'll be better with their next. For a local band, I;m sufficiently impressed. You can call it hardcore emo- and it really is both, but at different times. Some songs are really emo, others are really hardcore. My favrote song is "Chainsaw Death Riot"

I was first gonna give this a 4, but with all the other 5s, I didn't want to break the trend- and I believe the more I listen to it, the more I'll like it

c'mon, just look at all the other reviews- and it's less than 10 bucks, buy the frickin thing already!

Ray from Ypsilanti, MI 
Jan 16 2003 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Osker -Treatment 5 CD
Click for more info

Osker
Treatment 5 CD

Awesome, awesome, awesome. snotty punk that you'll never grow old of. The guy's voice does sound a lot like early Green Day, but this is way better. Unfortunately Osker broke up, but with songs like these, they'll be remembered for quite some time.

Ray from Ypsilanti, MI 
Jan 16 2003 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Bright Eyes -Fevers and Mirrors CD
Click for more info

Bright Eyes
Fevers and Mirrors CD

What can be said about Bright Eyes but 'awesome' Conor is very talented both instrumentally and lyrically. Forget Dashboard- THIS is real emo. This is an ideal first Bright Eyes CD. If you like this, be sure to pick up "Lifted or The Story is in the Soil, Keep Your Ear to the Ground"

Ray from Ypsilanti, MI 
Jan 16 2003 Rating: 5/5 Stars
7 Seconds -Good To Go CD
Click for more info

7 Seconds
Good To Go CD

Awesome CD. I just got it, so I can't really pick out the best tracks, but I know after listening to it more this will end up one of my faves, and will probably lead to me getting more of their stuff. If you don't already have this, what are you waiting for? If you're just getting into 7 Seconds, I'd reccomend buying this- you'll end up wanting more

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 11 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review










© 1997-2020 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.