THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 66,715 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
22ND ANNIVERSARY SPECIALS

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
$5 Girly Shirts Sale
Winter CLEARANCE Sale






  Special Vinyl
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  Found Stock
  Mystery Packs
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying all 8 customer reviews
 
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
John from Lonview, TX 
Aug 8 2003 Rating: 5/5 Stars
V/A -Rock Music, A Tribute To Weezer LP
Click for more info

V/A
Rock Music, A Tribute To Weezer LP

Being that it's telling me I only have 56 days to review this LP, I might as well go ahead and do so. And as I've looked through the reviews just the other day, I should be the first person reviewing the vinyl version of this album.

This is the proverbial "tribute." All of the artists contributing to this do excellent jobs of not just playing a Weezer song, but taking that song and playing it as they would if they had written it. Among the stand-out tracks are: Affinity's "My Name Is Jonas," an appropriate opener in both theory and performance, FSF's "Say it Ain't So" and Christopher John's "The World Has Turned And Left Me Here," both incedentally have alternate takes on the LP (I can't vouch for the CD version). FSF has two versions of "Say it Ain't So," one with Chris Carrabba and one with Jason; the Christopher John bonus track is a remix of the one he does for the album. Dashboard manages to make it sound like they wrote an original. The Stereo and Mycomplex have both made avid fans out of me through this album, and although I like the Ataris, circa this album and before, their cover of this song was unnecissary. Not that I thought they shouldn't be on here, but should have chosen a different song to do. Anyway, pick up this LP if you're a vinyl collecting Weezer fan. Or try to find the first pressing on clear vinyl.

John from Lonview, TX 
Mar 6 2003 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Teen Idols/Squirtgun -Split CD
Click for more info

Teen Idols/Squirtgun
Split CD

Oh, yeah! The Teen Idols are back, and with their new singer, Kevin, they're as tight a quartet as ever. Two blasting songs from the Teen Idols; one old, one new ("Shadowman," and "Backstabber" respectively) both written by Phillip, the guitar player, blast forth with all the vengence and bubblegum they could muster. Squirtgun, featuring Mass of Screeching Weasel fame on bass, also performs very well with their own brand of Ramones-core. If you listen to "Chemical Attraction" you can hear "Teenage Lobotomy." All in all, though $7 pricetag may be a little expensive, it's a must for any Teen Idols, Squirtgun, or Screeching Weasel fan, or for any pop-punk lover.

John from Lonview, TX 
Feb 14 2003 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Ruth's Hat -Sloppy Poppy Punk Band 7

Ruth's Hat
Sloppy Poppy Punk Band 7"

I bought this and the "Surf's Down" EP after hearing a few MP3s and being completely suckered in by their harmonies. You thought the Travoltas were the perfect cross between the Beach Boys and the Ramones? Maybe the Queers? Well, let me tell you, nobody's got anything on Ruth's Hat. They're a Sloppy Poppy Punk Band.

John from Lonview, TX 
Feb 14 2003 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Teen Idols -Teen Idols LP
Click for more info

Teen Idols
Teen Idols LP

A must for any pogo-punk, Ramones-core, or (I loathe to say) pop-punk lover out there. Catchy, well written songs all played at blitzkrieg fast speed. I was also happy to find that the record is pressed on thick vinyl.

John from Lonview, TX 
Feb 14 2003 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Sublime -40 Oz. To Freedom (Picture Disc) LP
Click for more info

Sublime
40 Oz. To Freedom (Picture Disc) LP

After the self titled picture disc was released, and then this one following quickly in suit, I vowed to buy all that they release. Everyone pray for more of these limited edition vinyl pressings.

John from Lonview, TX 
Dec 4 2002 Rating: 5/5 Stars
B-Sides -Party With The B-Sides 7

B-Sides
Party With The B-Sides 7"

This is truly one of the greatest EPs punk rock has ever seen. Reminiscent of Wimpy & Tulu era Queers, though managing to carve their own niche in the Ramones-core, pop-punk movement, the B-Sides prove a timeless point: you don't have to be original, you just have to be fun.

John from Lonview, TX 
Nov 27 2002 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Queers -Everything's Ok 7

Queers
Everything's Ok 7"

There was a time when I impatiently waited for Blink-182 to bow down to their pop-punk masters, but as is the case for many of my favorite bands I must suffer with them through their obscurity. Sometimes it can be difficult, but with releases like this, it becomes easier and easier. The four song E.P. demonstrates the Queers ability to walk into a studio, turn on the mixers and lay down tracks that are almost identical to their L.P. counterparts, which in turn, can give the listener a vague notion of what their live shows can be like. If you are a fan of the Queers, or catchy toe-tapping pop-punk that was written to make you smile, this is a must. If you've never heard of the Queers, just peruse the track listings of their albums and buy the one that makes you laugh the most. Now all I need is a Queers/Teen Idols colaboration and I can die happy.

John from Lonview, TX 
Nov 27 2002 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Sublime -Sublime (Picture Disc) LP
Click for more info

Sublime
Sublime (Picture Disc) LP

What can be said about Sublime, other than that their influence on punk/ska is out-weighed only by tragedy that was Brad Nowell's death. As addictive as the Pixies, as fun as the Queers, and at times as hardcore as Bad Brains, though they only bore a slight resemblence to the latter of the three (having covered "House of Suffering" on many occasions). Sublime is truly one of the pivotal acts of the 90s, and will be remembered amongst the ranks of Nirvana and the likes in days to come. Their other vinyl releases are now going for hundreds if not thousands of dollars on ebay, so collectors grab your credit cards because you won't see any of these "down there at the pawn shop."

 
Displaying all 8 customer reviews
 
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review









© 1997-2020 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.