THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 45,885 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!
Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
Our 23RD ANNIVERSARY!!

10% OFF Small Merch
Special In-Stock Vinyl
Exclusive Limited Vinyl
See What Just Sold






  Special Vinyl
  T-Shirt Finder
  Restocks
  New Releases
  Just Added
  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 16 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Dash from Jackson, MS 
Apr 22 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
No One's Hero (CT) -Shadows In The Woods CD
Click for more info

No One's Hero (CT)
Shadows In The Woods CD

There was a time...give me a minute...I feel like an old fart. There was a time when this band would have fit perfectly on the bill for the first two or three Warped Tours. This band displays the infectious pop grooves, the riffy guitars, and the "just don't give a fuck" attitude that reminds me of so many a 90's Lookout! release. They exude their influences. And are so much better equipped to do it...than say...and band with a number or a day of the week in their name. They give homage without ripping off, there's a whole helluva lot to be learned from that. Best of all, it's just fun punk fuckin' rock! -God Bless

Dash from Jackson, MS 
Feb 25 2004 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Briefs -Off The Charts CD
Click for more info

Briefs
Off The Charts CD

I was disappointed. Hit After Hit was a terrific album so I was excited when FedEx came to my door with this. But it's just boring. Catchy at some points, boring most of the time. A couple of politicized lyrics that I might necessarily agree with if they didn't sound so silly coming from a sugary band like this.

Dash from Jackson, MS 
Feb 25 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Flav Giorgini -Trouble & Strife CD
Click for more info

Flav Giorgini
Trouble & Strife CD

What can I say? It's a good disc. A little pop alotta rock, elements of country. It's like if Tom Waits wrote a punk album. Don't buy it if you're one of those cockos who think if something isn't fast and pissed off and relentlessly pushing hollow social issues it isn't punk rock. DO BUY IT if you're a rock n roll fan looking for something fresh. It may not fill any sub-genre's prefabricated template, but to me that's a good thing.

Dash from Jackson, MS 
Jan 14 2004 Rating: 1/5 Stars
Jari-Pekka Laitio-Ramone -Heaven Needed A Lead Singer: Fans Remember Joey Ramone Book
Click for more info

Jari-Pekka Laitio-Ramone
Heaven Needed A Lead Singer: Fans Remember Joey Ramone Book

I dunno why I thought this book would be better.. it's got some cool insights by people who were close to Joey.. but this guy who compiled it.. it's really more about him than Joey, he just seemed to be looking for an outlet to show off all his neat-o pictures that he took with the Ramones.. there's a difference between "huge fan" and "psychotically obssessed". It should be called "Fan Remembers" not "Fans Remember". ps: we should all start attaching Ramone to the end of our names! -Dashy Ramone

Dash from Jackson, MS 
Jan 6 2004 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Cleveland Bound Death Sentence -Cleveland Bound Death Sentence CD
Click for more info

Cleveland Bound Death Sentence
Cleveland Bound Death Sentence CD

These guys aren't really trying. The playing sucks, the production sucks (proudly labled in the liner notes as recorded on a 7-track).. punk rock needs more bands like this! Good ol' punk aggression interspersed with some sprinkles of melodic rock'n'roll makes for good songwriting which totally makes up.. hell it even compliments.. the record production and makes it one helluva rockin' album.

Dash from Jackson, MS 
Jun 30 2003 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Flipsides -Clever One CD
Click for more info

Flipsides
Clever One CD

Not gonna say it...not gonna say it..mm..trying to stop myself..mmuu..I can't help my self..mmMMUFFS! Just kidding. Of course the aesthetic would call those guys to mind but one listen'll tell you different. The first time I heard these guys was on the Fat Wreck tour. I'd had a one or two or ten beers by that point. I didn't exactly remember what they sounded like., but I do remember dancing like a total shithead while everyone else stood swaying back and forth. So I must have like it. I was right. These guys and gal are good and I would make an ass of myself all over again to get their live show swingin'. It's well deserved.

Dash from Jackson, MS 
Jun 30 2003 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Mopes -Accident Waiting to Happen CD
Click for more info

Mopes
Accident Waiting to Happen CD

Leave it to the guys at Lookout to release yet another side project of homogenized but catchy gems. None of the songs on the album stand out but it is a good one to put on and not think about.. just a catchy rock n roll record that doesn't bring on anything new.. it doesn't challenge the mind or push any parameters. It's only distinction is its little surf twist. If you're into the Queers/Screeching Weasel/etc. you'll like it. Just a note to Lookout, it's not shit yet, but it will be.

Dash from Jackson, MS 
Jun 24 2003 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Ann Beretta -New Union Old Glory CD
Click for more info

Ann Beretta
New Union Old Glory CD

I really loved "Fallen Heroes".. this one was good but not the best. The song writing has matured, but the Beretta signature elements are still there. The raspy dual vocals and guitars are still great on this one.. the songs are a little longer and more mellow, a little "poppier". Great disc all in all (I had to listen to it a few times to really get in to it) but if you're new to the band, pick up "To All Our Fallen Heroes" first.

Dash from Jackson, MS 
Jun 16 2003 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Eyeliners -Sealed With A Kiss CD
Click for more info

Eyeliners
Sealed With A Kiss CD

In my experience, many chick punk bands don't seem as motivated to stand out as a unique band due to the fact that they already stand out by their gender in this, our punk rock boys' club. They're songs are usually more monotonous and less inspired.. just in my opinion. Don't think I'm a bigot, I love girl bands, just as any band, when they're exciting and fresh. The Eyeliners are just such a band. They are addictively melodic.. and as far as songwriting, they really try, instead of just churning out twelve or so more tracks of shit and calling it an album. You'll really dig their good old fashioned rock and roll guitars and basslines.. also the vox are great. They don't scream like they're PMSing and constipated all at once like a lot of girls are pigeonholed into doing.. just sexy, feminine vocals. Not diva-like, more like that girl next door. By the way, they are hot too! Sorry.. had to say it.

Dash from Jackson, MS 
May 16 2003 Rating: 3/5 Stars
US Bombs -War Birth CD
Click for more info

US Bombs
War Birth CD

Duane and gang.. what can be said? It's what you'd expect from these guys. Good old school-esque punk rock set to it's own moderate pace.. that's what I like about the guys is that they don't feel they have to play fast to have good punk. But it's still a bit boring, the melodies are good but like I said, it's exactly what you'd expect.. if you've heard one you've heard 'em all. The lyrics are good, expressing a point of view on politics and skating and stuff pulls itself off very well against the powerhouse distorted barre chords and guys echoing everything Duane just said in unison. It's good background music for driving or skating.. Rock and Roll!

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 16 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review








© 1997-2021 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.