THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 72,886 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!

Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
INTERPUNK E-MAIL SIGNUP!
Sign up for our COUPONS and occasional updates. Your e-mail address is kept private and safe.

ADD MEcancel me






  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews
  Dickies
  Converse
  Draven
  Hurley
  T.U.K.



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 29 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Joan from Barkhamsted, CT 
Jun 4 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
1-Speed Bike -Someone Told Me Life Gets Easier In Your 50's CD
Click for more info

1-Speed Bike
Someone Told Me Life Gets Easier In Your 50's CD

1-Speed Bike is the shit, some spastic infectious beats chopped and turned around, with humorous and oft-times political jabbing thrown in the mix. However, despite what I've written it's hard to describe 1-Speed Bike. It's just something some people will like and others will find completely retarded I think. I really enjoyed Droopy Butt Begone! and had heard El Gallito, so's I decided to pick this up, a combination of material from El Gallito, the Klootzak Keizer 12", and new tracks. Overall it's cool, so please be conned into buying this supposedly militant cd.

Joan from Barkhamsted, CT 
Jun 4 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Sofa -Grey CD
Click for more info

Sofa
Grey CD

One of the first Constellation bands ever, and as such one of that now rather celebrated (in some circles) label's first releases. Sofa was a unique band, playing an amalgam of hard rock and indie punk that kind of reminds me a little of Hoover instrumentally and of Joy Division vocally. Don't expect Godspeed you fools, because it's not Godspeed you fools!

Joan from Barkhamsted, CT 
Jun 4 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Crippler Cross Face -Where Did We Put That Dead Horse We've Been Beating? CD
Click for more info

Crippler Cross Face
Where Did We Put That Dead Horse We've Been Beating? CD

A sick disc. Saw its relations to As The Sun Sets/Daughters, listened to the sample, and it was clear it's worth owning. Totally down with this brand of grind/thrash, it does not disappoint (not me anyway.) Some of the guitar breakdowns remind me a little of The Tony Danza Tapdance Extravaganza. check it, kiddies

Joan from Barkhamsted, CT 
Oct 25 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Lee Ranaldo -JRNLS80s Book
Click for more info

Lee Ranaldo
JRNLS80s Book

This is a sweet book. It chronicles the early days of Sonic Youth, presented through journals, postcards, letters, poems, and a few pictures from Lee Ranaldo. I recommend checking it out.

Joan from Barkhamsted, CT 
Sep 26 2006 Rating: 3/5 Stars
DIY Or Die -How To Survive As An Independent Artist By Michael W. Dean DVD
Click for more info

DIY Or Die
How To Survive As An Independent Artist By Michael W. Dean DVD

Pretty decent. I think out of everyone there Ian MacKaye had the most meaningful shit to say. It kind of sucks that they don't provide a lot of footage of the artists that they interview taking part in what they actually do. The interviews are fragmented, and only toward the end do you actually catch the people doing what they do, but only for a few seconds before it cuts away to the next person. they definitely interview a varied set. its not a bad pickup, and they freely encourage burning it and distributing it yourself, so at least there's something for your lazy ass to do after you watch it. DIY or PEE!!!!

Joan from Barkhamsted, CT 
Sep 18 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
DMS -DMS CD
Click for more info

DMS
DMS CD

National Skyline drummer gives us a solo side project. the jazz and electronic thing is an interesting combination, and you got to give him credit for putting this together. it's not bad but I recommend Bottleskup Flenkenkenmike or One-Speed Bike over this.

Joan from Barkhamsted, CT 
Sep 18 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
101 -Numbers CD
Click for more info

101
Numbers CD

i'm not sure how much longer the 101 can go with their sound. i've reviewed their other two albums, and although this one is put together well too, I just can't help but feel it's more of the same. If you dig the first two, you'll probably like this, which I do. But I don't see any evolution in what they're playing, sometimes it seems like rehashed riffs from Green Street but not as catchy. It may just be that they've maxed-out the "power pop three set" thing. if they added another guitarist or even if Richter dubbed more tracks there would be a lot more variation here. my concern is that i don't know how long they will survive if they keep going with the same formula. this is pretty good, but I would take Green Street over this any day of the week.

Joan from Barkhamsted, CT 
Sep 18 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Lee Ranaldo/Leah Singer -Drift DVD
Click for more info

Lee Ranaldo/Leah Singer
Drift DVD

Singer's choreographed photography and Ranaldo's sometimes-powerful poetic passages are a fitting pair. Coupled with constant background drones from Ranaldo's guitar, his words meld with what is represented onscreen. It is a pretty slow presentation, with each frame shown in the book layered atop another. the book and the movie are the same thing. so, if you watch the movie, you can look at the book for a more in-depth look at the photos and writing. however, if you look through the book you can get the movie in a nutshell rather quickly. particularly driven was Ranaldo's relay of his post-9/11 New York experience. the firework frame-by-frame is pretty sweet too.

Joan from Barkhamsted, CT 
Sep 18 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Poison Arrows -Trailer Park CD
Click for more info

Poison Arrows
Trailer Park CD

slow, trance-like electronic experimental sampling indie drones. the poison arrows are a pre-Atombombpocketknife incarnation with ABPK member Justin Sinkovich. I guess they just had a release titled "premix" on File-13 in August, but it's already out of print! overall a pretty decent EP, hopefully a full length is in the works for somewhere down the line.

Joan from Barkhamsted, CT 
Sep 18 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
David Markey -Cut Shorts: A Collection Of Short Films And Music Videos DVD
Click for more info

David Markey
Cut Shorts: A Collection Of Short Films And Music Videos DVD

Markey's films are one-of-a-kind, from the time he started shooting when he was 11 up until now. Here is a true independent artist who's made a name for himself just doing what he loves. from the outrageously strange to downright hilarious, he's got some good material here. respected music from Devo and Sonic Youth, as well as many more. Some of my favorites include "the boost", "rap damage" and "summer has been over for a long time" and the posies music video.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 29 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review










© 1997-2017 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.