THE ULTIMATE MUSIC & MERCH STORE!
With 71,255 Punk, Metal, Indie, HXC & Ska items!

Welcome to INTERPUNK!
Returning Customer?
Please log in here
New Customer?
Open an account here
Log out ^Not you?

Thank you for shopping at Interpunk.com!
Items:0
Cost:$0.00
View your cart
Saved Carts
Secure checkout
INTERPUNK E-MAIL SIGNUP!
Sign up for our COUPONS and occasional updates. Your e-mail address is kept private and safe.

ADD MEcancel me






  On Sale
  Bands
  Record Label
  Song Title
  Compilations
  IP Local
Reviews
  Dickies
  Converse
  Draven
  Hurley
  T.U.K.



  

Customer Written Item Reviews
 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 67 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk
Mathew from Park Hall, MD 
Nov 8 2008 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Against Me! -From Her Lips To God's Ears (Remix By Adrock) LP
Click for more info

Against Me!
From Her Lips To God's Ears (Remix By Adrock) LP

I'm not sure how someone managed to take one of the best tracks from Searching for a Former Clarity and make it awful, but here's the proof.

The complete removal of the original instrumentation of the song and looping some techno beat over Gabel's vocals makes you realize something. You realize that Tom Gabel and his band work very well together. The backing vocals, the drum and bass, and guitar are all necessary parts in the equation that has made Against Me great. This song does not function as a techno piece at all. It just feels very awkward. The original makes me want to dance and move, this just makes me shake my head.

This record appeals to the collector in me, but one spin of the remix was more than enough for me. I'll listen to the full length if I want to here the original song.

Mathew from Chicago, IL 
Oct 7 2008 Rating: 2/5 Stars
Rise Against -Appeal To Reason (Ecopak) CD
Click for more info

Rise Against
Appeal To Reason (Ecopak) CD

I had been following this album very closely hoping all the while for any new taste of whats to come. I first heard Re-Education and I had to let it grow on me. Eventually, I heard Collapse, Entertainment, and Whereabouts Unknown. These seemed like pretty solid tracks and I had high hopes for the rest of the album. Unfortunately, it did not fulfill them in the slightest.

For the most part, this could have just been a collection of B-Sides from the Sufferer and the Witness. However, that's not true because Rise Against has been notorious for leaving some of their best material to B-Sides. I am looking forward to the slew of unreleased songs that are sure to surface like they did the year following he latter mentioned album.

As far as this album, there is nothing new from the band. Its pretty much everything you've heard in the last two major label releases from them. There are a few solid tracks: 1, 3, 9, 13, a few alright ones: 2, 11, 12, and the rest are forgettable. I think the only thing that makes this album standout from recent efforts is a return to introspective songwriting. The sad thing is that it worked better with Everlasting, and I wasn't much of a fan of that album. I listened to the album at least 20 times or more since I've had it, but i think that was because i was hoping to find something to love about it every time. However, I came up short each time. The fast tempo punk songs are limited and have been done better before. The opening songs are good and towards the middle, you just get bored because there is nothing to keep your attention.

The acoustic song is pretty ridiculous too. In the punk community, it hasn't been uncommon to find a song sympathizing with the unfortunate young soldier and Hero of War is just one more offer in an overcrowded mix of far better songs. My brother and I concluded that the reason they pissed in the guys hands is because he picked up a jellyfish. Its risky for a major label band to delve so strongly into the political frontier, but bands like Anti-Flag and Rise Against are bringing political minded songs back into the main stream. Most punks are well aware that there are more scathing and better political albums to check out, so this album will most likely be passed on by those in the underground.

One of the best things that can be said about the album is the 7" that comes with the pre-order has a cover of Minor Threat on the B-Side. While this song has been covered into the ground already, its an awesome track that is hard to fuck up.

I'm hoping that there will be some level of redemption to this album when it's played live. I'll be seeing them on 11/21 and I am actually very excited. Rise Against has a stellar live show that I can only imagine is made more amazing by playing in their hometown.

Matt from Park Hall, MD 
Sep 5 2007 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Rentokill -Antichorus CD
Click for more info

Rentokill
Antichorus CD

If you do not own this cd, you are doing yourself a huge diservice. Hands down one of the strongest releases this year. THis album is filled with unrelenting hardcore anthems. Their lyrics are intelligent and the musicallity is quite enjoyable. There is so much anger and passion in the vocals that i first wondered if there was a new singer for the group. Its really hard to explain how good this cd is. All i can say is that if you like Red Lights Flash, Antimaniax, Connie Chaos, or Rentokill's previous works, you'll love this cd.

Matt from Park Hall, MD 
Jul 10 2007 Rating: 3/5 Stars
Unseen -Internal Salvation CD
Click for more info

Unseen
Internal Salvation CD

What can be said about this album? The word "disappointment" comes to mind. The first thing you notice about the new Unseen record is the immensely high production value. The vocals are a big let down. It sounds like Mark is shrieking and its almost unbearable at points. I dont know what happened to his voice, but its so different and nothing like he used to be able to do. Only a few songs stand out of this album stand out as good Unseen songs: Such Tragedy, At Point Break, Left for Dead, and Act the Part. Everything else really just runs together. It becomes difficult to discern one track from the next. Most of that is because you just really dont want to. Its everything you would expect from the Unseen, fast guitars, thrashing drums, but there are some key things missing. Namely, there are very few catchy choruses that their last albums contained and the bass is really hard to hear in most songs. I just dont see any of these songs being in huge demand when they play live. My only hope is that when i go see them at Warped Tour that they are still one of the best live shows around.

Matt from Park Hall, MD 
Jul 10 2007 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Bad Religion -New Maps Of Hell CD
Click for more info

Bad Religion
New Maps Of Hell CD

When i first heard the single, "Honest Goodbye," my jaw dropped. I could not believe that this was Bad Religion. The song was so slow and boring. The lyrics were terrible and it was nothing but whoas. It could have easily been any Weezer song. I was so worried that this was going to come to represent the rest of the album. Thankfully, it didn't.

Bad Religions follow up to Empire Strikes First surpasses it in almost every way, but at the same time combines elements of what they have been doing in recent albums. First, i want to address the issue of the track listing. I was saddened to see a song dropped for one. Second, i re-arranged the tracks on my iPod and listened to how it was supposed to be, and it functioned so much better. Like the last two albums, New Maps began with a bombardment of fast, hard songs. Then it grew into longer, more melodic tracks, before re introducing the earlier style, then closing on more slow songs. Before the adjustment, it was a refreshing mix. In addition, i think "Submission Complete" is a much better closing song with the fade out that it has.

Onto the songs. Many of the tracks are strong and well written. However, they dont offer anything that we havent seen on an album before. For the most part, the songs remind me of a combination between No Substance, Empire Strikes First, and The Process of Belief. Not that there's anything wrong with that. There are a few tracks that stand out as magnificient and are refreshing. Those are Heroes and Martyrs, The Lost Pilgrim, Before You Die, New Dark Ages, Fields of Mars, and Reqiuem for Dissent. The rest of the songs serve mainly as filler. The only songs that are really disappointing are 52 seconds, the distorted vocals and lame lyrics just baffled me, and Honest Goodbye.

This album isnt groundbreaking and it wont change anyones mind who has never liked Bad Religion before. It serves as a nice album from a legendary band who still appreciates the value of honest music making. Although they are in their 27th year as a band, i still have faith that they have more greatness in them.

Matt from Park Hall, MD 
Dec 2 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Bloody Irish Boys -Drunk Rock CD
Click for more info

Bloody Irish Boys
Drunk Rock CD

I never fully appreciated how rocking this record is until i was drinking with my buddies one night and the song Beer is Good, Beer is Great came on. We decided to put the whole thing on and just enjoy being drunk and listening to rocking irish punk. This album is good beyond the drinking aspect, but thats when it is at its best.

Matt from St. Mary's City, MD 
Nov 18 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Converge -No Heroes CD
Click for more info

Converge
No Heroes CD

Very powerful album. The first half knocks you down without mercy. The second keeps you there with strong drawn out songs that make you glad they took on such ambitious sounds. This contains all of the brutality you have come to love from Converge. Great guitar work and even more amazing drumming. One of the best hardcore records this year. No reason not to buy this as soon as possible.

Matt from St. Mary's City, MD 
Oct 20 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Blood Brothers -Young Machetes CD
Click for more info

Blood Brothers
Young Machetes CD

Now that this is out, its hard for me to pick which Blood Brothers album is my favorite. Burn Piano has so many amazing songs and i was blown away when i first heard it. March on is a fantastic example of what dual vocalists can do on an album. Young Machetes somewhat epitomizes what made every previous album great. They continue on with the vocal stylings of Crimes, but underneath there lies the power in the songwriting from March on and Piano Island. This is deifinitely one of the strongest releases of the year. Unlike Crimes, which i had to force myself to like after a while, i instantly fell in love with this record. If Crimes made you a little sad, then let Young Machetes be your Prozac. Spit Shine Your Black Clouds, We Ride Skeletal Lightning, Huge Gold AK-47. All winners.

Matt from Park Hall, MD 
Oct 20 2006 Rating: 5/5 Stars
Dirty Water -Dirty Water CD
Click for more info

Dirty Water
Dirty Water CD

Oh Mark Lind, you and your side projects. This one was a bit short, but it had plenty of punch packed into it. Pretty much, what it comes down to, is if you like the Ducky Boys, Far From Finished, or any other Boston bred street punk sound, go for this record. It shant disappoint.

Matt from Park Hall, MD 
Oct 20 2006 Rating: 4/5 Stars
Red Lights Flash -Stop When... CD
Click for more info

Red Lights Flash
Stop When... CD

Not quite as mind blowing as Free... but still a good listen. When i first heard Free... i loved the guitar tones and speed in the vocals and guitar. Stop When... seems to show the beginnings and development of what is now a great band. It seems that as the cd goes along, you can hear it evolving into the sound that emerged with Free... If you are down with the Austrian punk scene, then there is no reason not to get it.

 
Displaying 1 to 10 of 67 reviews
Jump to page
Next Page
Reviews are written by people that purchased this item from Interpunk



Do you want to write a review for an item you purchased from Interpunk?

Click here for your list of items you can review










© 1997-2017 Interpunk Inc. All rights reserved. Our Privacy Policy Read our disclaimer.